Rafael Araújo's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rafael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning French, Spanish
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Auctioneer / Pregoeiro
  • Engenharia Naval
  • From Belém, State of Pará, Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! 👋 I’m Rafael, or simply Raf or Rafa.

I’m a gay, open-minded, independent, extroverted, spontaneous and (most importantly) ethical person. I’ve lived in Rio and the UK before (Btw, I love brits, I swear, they’re the nicest people). I love traveling around Brazil and Europe. I also plan to travel to Asia soon. I’ve been to 10 countries so far and hope I can visit many more. I’m an ordinary person. I guess that doesn’t sound great, specially in CS, where you’re supposed to sell yourself as this super interesting person, but I do have a lot to offer, I believe we all do. I don’t think you need to be good looking or speak multiple languages to be interesting at all. That said, I’m open to meet anyone, I don’t care about your age, gender, sexual preference or skin color. As long as you’re open-minded we’ll get along great. I can host, meet or surf in your couch, if you’ll have me. We could cook together, go places, talk about anything, go for a drink (or several), and maybe if we hit it off, we could even travel together someday. If you welcome me into your home, you’ll forever have a place in mine, wherever that may be.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Life’s short, it really is, so for every day off or vacation I get, I’ve decided to travel and experience life to the fullest. I don’t travel to visit museums or landmarks, I find that most of those experiences don’t really stay with me. I’d much rather walk around, just go out and walk, explore, eat at a local restaurant, go to a bar, even shopping in the local supermarket amuses me, as trivial as that may be. I like to experience the local life while I’m abroad, if that makes sense. To me Couchsurfing is not just about a free accommodation and saving money and I guess if you’re using it for that sole purpose you’re missing out. The best memories I have are of the people I’ve met, the unexpected places I got to go that I couldn’t have imagined going if someone hadn’t shown me. I do love to learn how local people think, what’s their life like. And by saying this in no way I want you to think that you have to show me around, go out with me and introduce me to everything, I would never expect or impose something like that, it would be nice, but I’m sure whatever exchange we have will be worth it.

Interests

  • arts
  • fashion
  • lgbt rights
  • cooking
  • beer
  • nightlife
  • partying
  • socializing
  • music
  • volunteering
  • mountains
  • urban exploration
  • food
  • travelling
  • bars
  • film
  • outdoors
  • queer
  • night walks
  • gayfriendly
  • nature walks

Music, Movies, and Books

I’m into all sorts of music, it depends on the mood. I like electronic in general, techno, jazz, pop, chillout, alternative, house, r&b etc. Some of my favorite artists are Robyn, Fiona Apple, Nina Simone, Gaga, SZA, Lykke Li and Tame Impala.

I love films with strong female leads, horror, suspense, drama. Some of my favorites are: Black Swan, Blue Jasmine, Amour, The Witch, Nocturnal Animals, Another Woman, Fargo, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolf?, just to name a few.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A friendship, a great company, laughs, deep conversations, a drink (or some) and a lot of respect and empathy.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Poland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Rafael’s full profile.

My Groups