Rahin Haider's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rahin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in Bengali, Bangla, English, French; learning Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • French language teacher (as a foreign language), Musician...
  • BSc in Computer Science, Diploma (B2) in French
  • From Dhaka, Dhaka Division, Bangladesh
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Hello people out there, Rahin here from Dhaka, Bangladesh. I was born in 1986.

I teach French for half of my living. For the other half, I work as a musician (tenor saxophone). My goal is to turn into a professional musician by the age of 40.

I have a fantastic work-life balance. I love to spend time in social activities. But I cherish solitude as well. I enjoy my own company, that's why I think others might enjoy my company too.

I try to live a disciplined life nowadays. Used to be a smoker, gave up. Used to be a couch-potato, gave up on that and started running in the morning 3 times a week. Didn't know how to manage time, getting better at it everyday, I believe.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I visit a foreign land, it depresses me if I don't get to meet any native. Couchsurfing is the answer to that. It's just frustrating to spend time (and good money!) in hotels with luxuries that I don't need while traveling.

I also want to help out anybody who comes to Dhaka, Bangladesh. It's a clumsy and crazy city and knowing a native can make a big difference.

Interests

I've been playing the saxophone for 5 years. Before that, I had played the Indian bamboo flute for 6 years.

I am keenly interested in languages. Though it's only three languages I speak right now, I always try to learn a word or expressions from any speaker of a different language. I believe a language is a window to a culture. And I love to meet new people from a different culture than mine.

  • culture
  • cooking
  • running
  • traveling
  • magic
  • music
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

It changes every now and then. For the moment,

Music: Mostly jazz. Now I am listening to Snarky Puppy, Julian Lage, Stan Getz, Dexter Gordon, Hank Mobley.

Movies: The Pianist, The Prestige, Schindler's List, 3 iron (Kim ki Duk), Ratatouille, Amelie

Books: I am not an avid reader. I take time to read classics now and then. The Trial (Kafka) and L'etranger (Camus) would be some of my favorites.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Not sure if it's 'amazing'. But it took some amount of courage to go spend two years in Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) working as an interpreter for Bangladesh Army. It was an interesting experience. Most of the time I had to spend time with the locals and hear different versions of the same story and write reports accordingly.

Teach, Learn, Share

Would love to learn to cook. In my view, apart from music, cooking is another skill that's the closest real life thing to magic.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My experiences. My thoughts about life. My music (if there's a tenor sax around).

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Nepal, Netherlands, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bangladesh, Côte d'Ivoire

Join Couchsurfing to see Rahin’s full profile. It’s free!