Rahul Pillay's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rahul’s full profile.


  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Tamil
  • 22, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Student
  • No education listed
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a 21-year-old male who hails from the sunny island of Singapore :) (Disclaimer: I have 0 references because I have only just signed up into this community, as of December 2022. I'll be verifying my profile shortly, but in the meantime, you can check me out on Instagram! I am very active and I have more pictures over there! @hp_rahul)

I have just completed two years of military service (mandatory for all male Singaporean citizens), and I have 8 months of free time until I enroll in university. I recognise that these 8 months are crucial as I might never again get such a long break to pursue my hobbies/travel. Hence, I intend to make the most out of it by going on an adventure to the U.S.

As cliche as it sounds, since young, it has been my dream to visit America. While I appreciate the safety, comfort, and familiarity that Singapore has offered me, I have always been intrigued by the way of life of those who live in America. It seems that most individuals in the U.S. have the capacity to pursue their interests with minimal societal pressure and judgment. In Singapore, there is significant pressure placed on each individual to be as successful as (or even more) than your neighbour. Hence, we typically forgo our genuine passions in favour of pursuing conventionally successful lifestyles. I wish to experience what it would be like to live in a country where there is a little something for everyone.

All that to say, I intend to travel for around a month to America. I intend on doing a road trip in California, as well as exploring NYC, but I am also interested in visiting other cities.

I don't have any specific hobbies; I usually just tag along with my friends and do what they enjoy doing. I am very spontaneous and outdoorsy and I like to be on my feet, whether it be running, bouldering, swimming, or any other activity of the sort.

I am VERY into some serious karaoke. If you are my eventual CS Host, please, please bring me to a singing diner or any karaoke spot. Best if you could duet 'Total Eclipse of the Heart' with me.

A huge part of my identity is my love for the television show, Glee. Glee introduced me to multiple 80s songs that I now have an affinity for. It also caused me to give greater appreciation to Broadway music (my favourite Broadway show is In The Heights). And lastly, as weird as it is to be inspired by a television show, it was the cause of some significant personal growth for myself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined the Couchsurfing community because I wish to explore America through the lens of those who live there. I don't just wish to explore the typical touristy sights. What makes these cities so great are the tiny gems located in each neighbourhood. I wouldn't have any knowledge of them through my own online research. America isn't a country to just visit. To me, at least, it's begging to be lived and breathed through each traveller who finds themself there. I wish to gain the weight of the American spirit while I am here, and have it be permanently etched in me after I leave.

More importantly, however, I enjoy conversation with exciting individuals, I love learning new ideas and I enjoy hanging out with those from a different side of the world than where I am from.

Couchsurfing allows me to do just that. I get to experience a myriad of personalities, passions, goals, and purposes. I also believe that I am an ideal Couchsurfer for hosts as I am extroverted, open, earnest, and most importantly, respectful and hygienic.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I mainly listen to Pop music, but the songs span various decades (starting with the 60s). As mentioned earlier, I have an affinity for 80s pop music because I enjoy the style of production that was popular during that period. Melodies were complex yet heartfelt, and the instrumentation used was so diverse, between electronic to actual instruments. I also like to watch shows, whether it be Broadway, or small plays.

Movies: I pretty much watch most movies hence I can't pick a favourite. However, I do have genres of movies which I do not like. That would be cartoon movies (think Dreamworks), and Biopics. Please, enough biopics.

Books: Self-Help books are always a solid choice. I just finished reading "Empowered" by Vee Kathivu. Her aim is to inspire students to put in their best effort academically. She has an eponymous YouTube channel, if you're interested to check her out.

Teach, Learn, Share

My favourite quote to live by is "We cannot change the cards we're dealt, but we can choose how we play our hand."

What I Can Share with Hosts

Honestly, there truly isn't much that I can offer aside from a small peek into the Singaporean lifestyle. However, I hope that my eagerness to learn and experience whatever my host advises me to is sufficient reason for them to take me in!

Countries I’ve Visited

Brunei Darussalam, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Rahul’s full profile.