Logo orange

Rachel Bullen

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 27 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 34 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student Naturopath & Nutritionist
  • Bachelor Degree
  • From Adelaide, South Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

"Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today" ~ James Dean

ABOUT ME

visited 19 states (8.44% of the world). Create your own visited map of The World or Triposo world travel guide for Android

PHILOSOPHY

I want to make a positive change in the world. I truly believe that the earth is a precious gift and I will do everything I can to protect and respect it. I feel passionate about human, animal & nature rights. I have this feeling that I am on this planet for a reason. I feel pretty lucky.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first contact with couch surfers was in Tasmania back in late 2008, thanks to an old housemate, Mike, a New Yorker who was very involved with CS. I had heard about CS before and thought it sounded like a pretty cool idea, but had not had contact with it.

When Mike invited me to a CS meeting I found myself surrounded by friendly, interesting, intelligent and adventurous travellers. I actually remember feeling like my world had opened up!

Years down the track to when I have actually used CS as a traveller, it has been such a blessing. I have also loved hosting. I have met such brilliant people - likeminded, generous, kind and awesome fun. Truly feel like my travels would never have been so enriched without Couch Surfing.

Interests

I am very passionate about nature. I love camping, bush walking and just being in nature. Cycling, swimming, running are sports I enjoy too - oh an exploring new places!!

I love going to arts festivals where boundaries are pushed creatively. A fun night would involve seeing live theatre,dance and of course live music! I could easily spend an entire day drawing and painting.

Love to cook, oh and love to eat amazing food. I consider myself a pretty adventurous eater...!!

Music, Movies & Books

An old favourite on the bookshelf is 'His Dark Materials' by Philip Pullman. An excellent & thought provoking read. An old housemate lent me a book of short stories by Hermann Hesse which I fell in love with. Gorgeous tales, often strange and always profound.

Music - I know everyone says they have broad music taste - and I'll say it too. My current favourites are: Fleet Foxes, Beck (sea change is my favourite album), just discovered Kyü who are lovely, God is an Astronaut, Nostalga 77 (Jazz), Unkle, The Smiths, Tame Impala, Gomez, plus I love classical.... & much more.

Movies. Ok just saw a film that blew me away. Truly brilliant - Metropolis (a silent film made in 1927). Mind you, it was at an arts festival and there was live score my the New Pollutants. It was incredible.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I feel pretty privileged to have cycled across Australia (South to North, and a portion of East to West). I hope to do it again one day.

I climbed Mount Olympus in Greece.

Teach, Learn, Share

What a beautiful gift in life to have the freedom to travel. And how utterly awesome to be welcomed into the home of a fellow human in a foreign land - who's happy to share not only their couch, but probably their friendship, stories and guidance! I hope to do the same for them.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, China, Ecuador, Fiji, France, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Philippines, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Canada, China

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile