Rakesh Devalapally's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rakesh’s full profile.


  • 24 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi, Telugu; learning German
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Software Engineer
  • Masters
  • From Hyderabad, Telangana, India
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Last updated: 23-NOV-2023

I "work from home" or do "home office" all the time. One of the perks of being an IT Software Engineer. My employer sits in Berlin and I live in Bonn. So, up for meeting anyone for a coffee / meal and make some social connections.

Moved to Bonn on 01-FEB-2022 together with my wife https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/alishiba-dsouza and we are busy setting up our house. We both love to meet new people and make connections and form friendships that last.

I love spending time in smaller groups and in calmer environments compared to larger and louder groups. Been through different phases of trying to be cool by blending in with people and doing things everyone does, and now, out of that. I do things I like and I join events I like to.

I am now trying to define my own identity and be known for something that I can call my life's calling :)

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rakesh.devalapally
Instagram: rdevalap

Changed a lot over the years. Spent the first 25 years of my life in and around Hyderabad, India. I wanted to be known as the jack of all trades and I did play badminton, volleyball, and football for my university (at the university level) and continued to play for my company (at corporate tournaments). Managed to learn some styles of dancing through workshops and even performed on stage a few times.

In 2013, moving to Singapore changed my life. Stayed 4 years there from 2013 - 2016.
2013 - a year of exploring food and gaining weight (gained 18 kgs in a year)
2014 - a year of traveling and exploring (managed to visit 8 countries in and around SEA)
2015 - the dawn of realization - getting back to shape (running and obstacle courses and short distance triathlons)
2016 - Full time into racing (Standard distance triathlons and half ironman distance races)

I then (in 2017) found a freelancing opportunity that would let me work from anywhere and I took up this opportunity and worked from various locations ( Seattle in PNW of US, Switzerland, India, Singapore, Bali). Ended the year of travel, in India, after getting admission into a masters' program in OVGU, Magdeburg. Germany :) I finished my studies and I now live in Berlin. Exploring parts of Berlin one at a time :) Moved to Bonn 01.02.2022

Had an earlier account which was deactivated and no reason was given.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started hosting people when in Singapore and realized that I could get to know of the cultures and habits of people from across the world just sitting at home. All I had to do was open up my place and heart to welcome others into it :) My first experience as a surfer was in Istanbul where 3 polish girls hosted in me their tiny room. That's when I realized It's not the size of the house that matters, it's the size of your heart that matters :)
And I am on CS again to paying forward the kindness that I received in other countries.


I believe that from the time we are born until the time we die, we all have one thing in common - time, and you have no other way around it except to pass it. You choose how you decide to spend it. I decided I will learn all that I can in the time I have. So, apart from the usual work and study and play as a kid, I learnt to play football, volleyball, basketball, Ping pong, Badminton (and played at different levels) in them. Can dance about 5 styles (Salsa LA style, Bachata beginners, Kizomba beginners, Bollywood expert, Merengue when drunk), can paint in 2 styles (not good at it though). I spent 2 years trying to get a better timing at triathlons and managed to do it. Few sprint distance races, 7 Olympic distances and 2 half ironman distance triathlons under my belt!

Having said that, I am up for any activity as long as it involves getting out of home, spending some time under the sun and returning home physically exhausted :) So, if you are looking for a dancing partner, running buddy, cycling buddy, swim buddy, or an outdoor activity buddy, you can count on me :)

I am also interested in learning about cultures, festivals, and origins of religion and traditions. I could tell you all that I know about Hinduism and few of the traditions in them, stories of my travels, how I understood "trust" as "touch" in Vietnam and it lead to uncomfortable situations and so on.

  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • bachata
  • triathlon
  • running
  • crossfit
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • volleyball
  • swimming
  • badminton
  • kizomba
  • mma
  • footbal
  • kickboxing

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - Suspense thrillers and indie movies that make you think a bit. Favorite movies include Man from the Earth, Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Dark Knight series, Inception, Ocean's series, few Bollywood and Tollywood movies that were not commercial hits but are critically acclaimed for the message they conveyed way ahead of their times.

Music - No speciality. Never listened to music as such, except while dancing or working out or if the neighbour plays it loud. However, I have a special liking for Yanni, Samvel Yarinvyan, Sayaka Katsuki, Leos Janacek :) Can listen to their compositions for a long time.
Not to forget the Indian maestros: Ilayaraja and A R Rahman. Some of their compositions are just out of this world. Few songs released over 20 years ago still have the potential to beat current chartbusters!

Books - History, Religion and their origins etc.
Read Khaled Hosseini, Haruki Murakami, Sidney Sheldon, Amitav Ghosh, Jeffrey Archer, Chetan Bhagat, Devdutt Patnaik, Anand Neelkanth, Reza Aslan, Michael Crichton, Robert Ludlum to name a few!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Helped an old woman sell her cards in Vietnam
Being the only Indian to have qualified for Challenge Championship 2017 ( half ironman distance race)
Jumping into the Pacific ocean from Death Cliff, Kona, Hawaii, US
Riding a motorcycle in Vietnam in torrential rain
Teaching kids in Vang Vieng, Laos

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach - maybe few Bollywood dance moves and how to make chicken curry. And if you are a complete newbie, I can give you tips on running, swimming and cycling. I could also teach how to draw an elephant's rear!

Learn - Anything that I do not know and anything that I can know to improve my knowledge on the subject.

Share - maybe a juice ? or a protein shake? ;-)

What I Can Share with Hosts

My skills of washing the dishes / keeping the place tidy or cleaning the house. A good meal of chicken and mushroom and eggs, if I am allowed to cook. Stories from Indian Mythology and the origins of the rituals. Experiences of my racing days and so on :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, India, Singapore, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rakesh’s full profile.

My Groups