Randy Su

Philadelphia, PA, USA

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Randy’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning German, Italian, Spanish, Taiwanese
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Medical Resident/Doctor
  • Graduate School (medicine)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To constantly live life, travel, experience, and make friends


I am an adventurous, creative, optimistic, and genuine person who loves forming friendships. I am shy at first, but easily open up (usually with the help of whichever companion I'm with). I am loyal, helpful, and usually go out of my way to make someone feel good.

I was born in Walnut Creek, California to Taiwanese parents, lived around the San Francisco area for 2 years, and finally moved to New Jersey, where I grew up for my entire childhood in a well-to-do, rural-suburban town near Princeton. It's 45 minutes to Philadelphia, 45 minutes to New York City, and it afforded me great opportunity to interact with people from all over the world.

Not to bore you with my biography, but I attended college at the University of Connecticut where I double majored in Physiology and Neurobiology, and Classics and Ancient Mediterranean Studies (which sounds like 4 majors, but it was two). I also minored in Chemistry. I attended medical school at UMDNJ - the University of Medicine and Dentistry in NJ. Through all of this, I found a way to travel every chance I could.

Currently, I am officially a doctor, but must go through training in residency to be a pediatric psychiatrist. It will be harder to travel, but it is a constant in my being so there is no way I will ever stop. I simply love experiencing life and will always find a way to enjoy it!


It is a disservice to close oneself from all the world has to offer. Be open and respectful to diversity and peoples from all over the world. Constantly learn enjoy life with others. Respect is the best thing one can have for others. I despise close-mindedness, rudeness, obnoxiousness, disrespect, and unwillingness to mature.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been able to host travelers who come into New York City, Philadelphia, or even Princeton, New Jersey to show them around, see attractions, eat at restaurants, and drink in pubs. Currently, I live in Philadelphia and I enjoy spending a day with travelers from around the world and the country to visit a city to as a guide or companion. Being in the (South Jersey/Philadelphia) area for the past few years got me acquainted with the city and experienced with a lot of the neighborhoods and attractions. However, I'm always a terrible guide =D. I do try to do as much as I can with my guests, and help the most I can with rides, supplies, food, and advice. But I am busy with work and other priorities so I'll do the best I can do.

I also host the weekly CS Philadelphia meet up. Wednesday evenings in Center City. Anyone that comes to Philadelphia should try to attend to have a good time =).


I have been able to surf on a couch for the first time in Miami! Then I used couchsurfing in Europe a few times. I have been fairly active in meeting with travelers who come into New York City or Philadelphia or Princeton, and some of my greatest friends are the local Philadelphia couchsurfers. Now I'm able to host people in Philadelphia after moving into the city!

January 2013 Jason (Miami)
March 2013 Tomas (Prague)
March 2013 Christian (Vienna)
March 2013 Blaz (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
March 2013 Karoly (Budapest)
September 2013 Flo (Erdweg, Germany)
September 2013 Andreas (Munich)
October 2013 Marcin (Krakow)
October 2013 Serdal (Stuttgart, Germany)
July 2014 Sebastian (Copenhagen)
July 2014 Andreas (Stockholm)
July 2014 Maria (Gothenburg, Sweden)
July 2014 John (Trondheim, Norway)
July 2014 Falke (Stavanger, Norway)
July 2014 Niklas (Oslo)

July 2013 Nick (Montreal)
July 2013 Fin, Bernhard, Gunter, Lisa (Würzburg, Germany)
March 2014 Ben (Mannheim, Germany)
June 2014 Simon (Dunedin, New Zealand)
May 2014 Michael (Mont Tremblant, Canada)
August 2014 Søren, Simon (Aarhus, Denmark)
August 2015 Shane (Perth, Australia/Taumarunui, New Zealand)
August 2015 Victoria (Paris)
August 2015 Brandon (Fond Du Lac, WI)
September 2015 Ryan (Cape Town)
September 2015 Jess, Sarah (Perth, Australia; Sydney)


I like art, photography, drawing, architecture
I like culture, mythology, geography
I like the outdoors (landscapes, seascapes, hiking, oceans, cityscapes)
I like being active. The only sport I really play is tennis. I also run, and I enjoy more non-everyday sports (hiking, mountain climbing, skiing, white-water-rafting, scuba-diving)
I like traveling. A lot.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Transformers, X-Men, Batman, Se7en, Latter Days, the Incredibles, Lion King, Big Hero 6,

Television: Friends, Will and Grace, Happy Endings, Glee, Family Guy, Teen Wolf, Futurama, Once Upon a Time, NCIS, Modern Family, Walking Dead, Top Chef, Project Runway

Music: Anthony Callea, Ludovico Einaudi, Snow Patrol, Rascal Flatts, Josh Groban, Shunichi Miyamoto, Blake Lewis, the Fray, Linkin Park

Books: Harry Potter, the Hunger Games, Calvin and Hobbes, Shakespeare, Edgar Allen Poe, Brian Jacques, Dan Brown, Bill Bryson, Malcolm Gladwell

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1. Scuba Diving on the Great Barrier Reef, Australia.
2. Parc Guell, Barcelona, Spain. My favorite place in the world.
3. Iguazu Falls, Brazil. I went to South America just for this. The sheer magnitude and majesty of these falls were so inspiring.
4. New Year's in Amsterdam. So much fun watching the fireworks reflect off the narrow houses and the canals.
5. Motorbiked up Thailand from Chiang Mai to Pai, stopping at roadside restaurants and enjoying good company with newly made friends.
6. Hiked up Volcan Acatenango and camped with perfect views of erupting Volcan Fuego in Guatemala. Poking my head out from behind the tent to see spewing reds and oranges was worth the strenuous hike that I intermittently thought I couldn't handle.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to solve a Rubik's cube

I love learning about culture and customs from other parts of the world, about foods, about differences, and about people's lives

I can share my love for good food. I can eat a lot.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Randy’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups