Logo orange

Randy Jacks

Crane Hill, Alabama, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Randy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English
  • 63, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Professional Handyman & Plumber / se...
  • Auburn University, B.S. microbiology...
  • From Crane Hill, Alabama
  • Profile 40% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Keeping life simple & stress free... hoping to get my house build one of these days without borrowing money.

ABOUT ME

New to this site and seriously considering hosting couch surfers. We are planning a cruise in January 2013 and may be interested in someone (or two) enjoying our home while we are gone for up to 10 days. If you're expecting fancy or upscale, this is not the place! It's comfortable and supposed to be a temporary home (old mobile home that has been added on to) while we have been building a permanent home. The really good thing is that we live on Smith Lake which is BEAUTIFUL and has very clear water, lots of wild life and good fishing and is known for large hybrid stripe. If you love the outdoors you can find plenty to do and venture out in my canoe or paddle out in my flat bottom boat... or I may even go for you using my old fishing boat. We have two dogs that are very loving once you are properly introduced but may be very protective. Sorry, but we are smokers and too old to go through the stress of giving it up. We would rather not smoke but it is an addiction. If you can't handle our smoking then just respect us. We respect your choice. As far as culturally, we are traditional in all aspects. No problem with people of other races. We love living out in the rural area. There are several vacation homes around but in the winter we don't see many people and get to enjoy the peace and quiet. At times we may not see other humans, except for the mail man or garbage man for weeks at a time. My son lives with us and we are all 3 internet addicts and have several projects going on, usually working on boats or building something. Girlfriend is big into crafts, especially crocheting. I'm very small time and have been struggling and self-employed since 1991... loving the independence!

PHILOSOPHY

One moment in time does not define a person, don't judge someone by their problems but by how they have overcome them.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I just found this site and am open to learning more about how I can benefit others, make life easy for myself and someone else while meeting interesting people and keeping things stress free for everyone I meet.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

The internet couch surfing is completely new to me. Many years ago I found myself in situations and people were great to allow me to stay at their home for a night. One incident occurred when out of the blue I decided to drive to New Orleans strictly out of my desire to wander and because of my curiosity. Just before I made it into New Orleans my car broke down and a guy picked me up. Not only did he help me get my car to a service station but also offered me his couch to sleep on that night. I've also picked up hitch hikers and given them a couch at night. It's great when we can simply trust people because they are in need or weary from travel.

Interests

Outdoors, creative, problem solving, handyman projects, building things. I took 2 years of Spanish in high school which I still retain quite a bit. I can not fluently speak or understand it but would love to become proficient in Spanish or any foreign language. I also took courses in French and German in college but have retained little knowledge of them.

Music, Movies & Books

It has been several years since I've taken time to read books (the internet took over). In the past I enjoyed adventure and mystery books, especially entertaining ones that had humorous parts. The authors I read mostly included Sydney Sheldon, Clive Cussler, and Mario Puzo. I found myself single and alone 5 years ago and met many people on a date site who I helped organize into parties & get togethers. We enjoyed many outings, bars, camping, and several outings to karaoke clubs. I actually got pretty good at karaoke (mostly country music). Off and on throughout life I've picked up my guitar to learn to play a little. I'd love to be able to learn to play more and better but just don't do it.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Thinking I would never travel, on a whim me and girlfriend took a cruise in 2011 to Cozumel. It was awesome! In my younger years I totally enjoyed scuba diving. I grew up "small town/rural" in Alabama and have witnessed the world totally changed. Some of the most amazing things I've ever seen were the simplest... watching a beaver push a limb by me while I was on a jet ski, finding new hatchling turkey vultures in a cave, watching a deer walk down the bank of the lake to get a drink of water, finding a new born baby deer in a field and petting it on the head but leaving it for it's mom.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am well educated in academics, really enjoyed chemistry, physics, and biology in college. I am also completely self-taught in many skills including being a licensed plumber, very accomplished auto and outboard motor mechanic, and have worked in many phases of construction and house building. Since graduating from college I have never had a job in my field of study. One of the longest lasting jobs I've ever had was in the sign business which encompassed vacuum forming and CAD/CAM manufacturing of signs. I am also completely self taught in graphics, design, and mechanical drawing.

Join Couchsurfing to see Randy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile