Barak Laub

Monterey, CA, USA

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Barak’s full profile. It’s free!


  • substitute teacher, film maker
  • University degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Finish my Documentary on Voluntourism.

Hello, I'm currently working on a documentary about the effects and externalities both positive and negative on voluntourism. I'm currently on a motorcycle trip up the West Coast and Back, so I'm probably somewhere on my journey and unfortunately not able to host.

I move around a lot but have been able to surf a great deal and I've had the awesome ability of hosting people in Nepal, India, California and New York. I'm an active person who believes our personal decisions define our character, for this reason I try to eat ethically and not to buy stuff which is bad for the environment/people producing it.

I'm really interested in sustainable development and psychology, most specifically behavioral economics, besides that I like motorcycles, traveling and adventure of almost all kinds. I'm also really into religion spirituality and philosophy.

In Hawaii some substitute teaching and possibly working with non-profits, besides that I love sports and go running, biking, play frisbee or catch all the time. So if that's something your into your welcome to join me. I love to go surfing and kayaking and have an extra board or two if that's something your interested in as well.


It all changes.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I try to use couchsurfing whenever I travel, to meet other people, get coffee or find out great places to go. When I am home I can host people, or at least show them around so they can see all of the great things this area has to offer. I used to host quite a bit when I lived in NY however now I can show people around and teach them how to surf.


I've stayed with a bunch of people and Couch Surfing is amazing. I've made best friends, fallen in love, and had some amazing experiences I never could have had otherwise. Couchsurfing is a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anybody.

I think one of the best things about couchsurfing is it helps us meet people outside of the typical social circles we have, this creates new ways of thinking and to develop as people. I really enjoy meeting, hosting, and staying with people who I disagree with, largely because I love to argue, but also because I like having my assumptions tested and having people show me a new way to see or do things.


Rugby, School, Swimming, Surfing, The ocean, Psychology, Philosophy, History, Waterpolo, Motorcycles. Anything that catches my interest and I'll enjoy.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like alot of non fiction and philosophy. Im a pretty avid reader and usually get through a book every week or 2. My musical choices change but I dont like really heavy metal or really pop rap stuff.

I'm a big fan of Kundera, Tolstoy and Dostoevsky. I enjoyed Tropic of Cancer and am currently taking a class on Romantic Poetry (from the romantic period) I also really love reading religious books such as the Bhadwagita, Buddhist texts.

I generally enjoy comedies and documentaries, I don't think any one genre of film or TV really defines me, except for some reason I always end up watching some sort of detective show which has a main character as an attractive male with unusual mental abilities, a attractive strong female lead, and then usually two other supplementary characters of which at least one is a minority and the other meets some white stereo type. (Damn you Psych, the Mentalist, Castle, Monk and Lie to me.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Isn't existing enough?

Teach, Learn, Share

I can surf, not well but i can. Thats pretty much it. I work and go to school and unless you have a great desire to learn video games or how to look cool i dont know what i have to offer. Maybe Philosophy lessons or I could teach you some riddles. I really need a trade though and I love learning cool stuff so im always down to learn. I speak some German and I'm happy to pass on what I know. I'm pretty into religion specifically buddhism and am happy to pass on the knowledge I do have. I could also teach you some really easy guitar songs.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Nepal, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    18 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Barak’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups