Ro'i Ben-Baruch's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ro'i’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 97 References 45 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern), Spanish; learning Arabic, Portuguese
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • graduate student (cognition), and software developer
  • working on it...
  • From Haifa, Israel
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Clapping to the on-beat


It's hard for me to describe myself in a paragraph, but I'll try. I'm kinda full of contradictions: i'm usually shy but after a little while i can become quite chatty, i'm very open-minded and usually up to anything (especially if it's music related!) and love experiencing new things but in the end of the day i'm quite conservative (much more than the average couchsurfer...), i always like laughing but I'm also quite serious...
I currently study for an MA in Cognitive Science in the Hebrew University in Jerusalem, and work as a software developer in a small image processing company (a student job). I live with my girlfriend near the market (see more under couch...), and on the weekends sometimes go to my family's home in Haifa and sometimes stay in Jerusalem. I'm quite busy with studies and work most of the week, but try to make the most of the little free time that I have.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I had an amazing 11 month trip (in '07-'08), during which I surfed couches and enjoyed CS parties/meetings/weekends all over the east coast in the US and all around South-America (if you really want to, you can read about my experiences in my travel blog : )
Summer of '09 I went to Europe for a short couchsurfing trip in Berlin, Prague (Czechsurfing 09!) and Barcelona - I had amazing hosts and a great time.
Stopped by Berlin at the summer of '10 for a reunion with friends from CS Buenos-Aires.
Traveled in the US in the summer of '11 and had a great time CouchSurfing in the (SF)Bay Area (and a few other places for a shorter time) and attending the first Texas CouchCrash in Houston.
I hosted a little in my family's house in Haifa and more during the several years I lived in my previous apartments in Jerusalem, and traveled around a little with some guests.


traveling, music (if you're interested in Israeli music from almost any genre I'd love to help), people, hanging out with friends, philosophy, word games, coincidences, harmonies & disharmonies...

  • traveling
  • music
  • philosophy
  • judaism

Music, Movies, and Books

movies: Memento, The Others, The Naked City, The Believer and basically any good thriller or a movie that makes you think.
TV shows: Oz, The Closer, Homicide, Southpark, Daria...
music: mostly Israeli (almost anything in hebrew but especially classic israeli rock and israeli hip-hop), but I'm also interested in funk, blues, reggae, classic rock, hip-hop and bossa nova (and again, I'd prefer all of the above in hebrew, but other languages are wellcomed too). basically i think everything is worth listening to at least once and I'd like to 'discover' new and interesting music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spending 2 amzing summers studying in nature with fellow young Jews, one in Jerusalem, the other in California.
Seeing the western wall through the eyes of the group of young Mexican Jews I travelled with.

Teach, Learn, Share

me gusta practicar mi castellano y tengo buenos recuerdos de cs en suramerica, entonces, aunque todos estan muy bienvenidos aqui, si son latinos estan incluso mas bienvenidos (:

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Italy, Peru, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    19 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Ro'i’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups