Ruan de Hart's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning German, Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • When I'm not travelling...an electronic engineer.
  • Masters degree in electronic engineering.
  • From Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Survive my current midlife crisis :) Took a year long sabbatical. Sold my motorcycle & car. Stored all my stuff. Pack my backpack & left the the Americas. Who knows what will be next.

ABOUT ME

I am 31 years old and have sold most of my possessions to enable myself to travel for a year. I am easy going, get along with a wide variety of people and have developed a knack for randomly meeting people. I have a broad spectrum of interests, but the most prominent while travelling is learning the ways of different cultures.

I enjoy social events, but unfortunately I did not get "the party gene." I can do one big night...then I'm out. I prefer a chilled atmosphere with good company. Can do anything from lighthearted to deep philosophical discussions. It really depends on my mood and who I'm with.

PHILOSOPHY

Pearls of wisdom are found everywhere. Listen to people before you decide to accept or dismiss their opinion.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I hate sitting on the sideline or feel like the fly on the wall. I want to be in the thick of things.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm new at this. Met some couchsurfers along my travels. Sounds like fun, so now I'm signed up.

Interests

Sailing, hiking, ultimate frisbee, squash, motorcycles, braai (BBQ), dancing, reading and movies

  • dancing
  • tango
  • bbq
  • partying
  • flying
  • motorcycles
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • kite surfing
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • racquetball
  • squash

Music, Movies, and Books

My music taste is very varied. Linken Park, CCR, Jack Johnson, Just Jinger, Rage Against the Machine, some classical....I don't stick to a music genre. If I like it, I'll listen to it.

Movies: Comedies, Action, Sci-Fi and some Fantasy.

Books: Investigation thriller, Biographies, Sci-Fi

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Won a Karate world championship as a junior.
Sailed across the Atlantic ocean.
Sold all my stuff, left my comfort zone and went to a different continent.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn about cultures that I travel to. Its the small subtle things that intrigue me.

I been making a list of things to learn when I can. Kite surfing, Spanish, Tango.

I have some ideas on travel, which I'm always willing (if not eager) to share. Want to go somewhere I have been? Drop me a line.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Germany, Peru, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups