Rebecca Janzen

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rebecca’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Currently working in retail.
  • Two years of part time studies at the University of Winni...
  • From Winnipeg
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

To see as much of the world as possible, and make some new friends along the way.

I'm fun loving, easy to get along with, and I enjoy meeting new people. I have a pretty wide variety of interests which include cooking, sewing, painting, refinishing furniture, travel and exploration, etc. I enjoy searching for and listening to new music, spending time with friends and family, going for walks, and watching home renovation shows.
I am Canadian, but moved to the Boston area almost two years ago after meeting, and then marrying my husband, Brian, who is American (more on that in the Couchsurfing experience section).


Give Love and respect to yourself and others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have had such great, and life changing experiences with couchsurfing.
In the summer of 2013 I decided to sublet my apartment, dissolve my self-employed cleaning business, sell my car, and have a travel adventure. I had never travelled solo before, but had been turned onto couchsurfing by my dad as a means of making some travel friends along the way.
I stayed with my very first host in NYC, and had an amazing experience. My host there recommended a stop in Boston so I made arrangements to stay with a host in Cambridge. I clicked instantly with my host, and he is now one of my good friends. While staying with him I was introduced to many of his friends, most of which are now my friends, too. One of his friends and I spent a lot of time together during my stay, and formed a close bond quickly. We kept in touch while I continued to travel, and a few short months later when I came back for another visit we got engaged. We have now been married for one and a half years :)


Listening to music of all kinds, being outdoors, gardening, sustainable living/homesteading, good conversations over coffee, ice cream, vegetarianism, cooking, baking, going to the movies, traveling, learning new things.

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy listening to many genres of music; typically folk, blues, country, dance, rock, alternative, indie, pop, etc.
I enjoy comedies, thrillers, dramas, and action movies- pretty well anything other than horror.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went volcano boarding in Nicaragua, snorkeling in Panama, bungee jumping in Costa Rica, and on a safari in Kenya. All highly memorable experiences.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know a little bit about a lot of things and I've dabbled in many areas, but I'm far from an expert in any any of them. I've painted houses (interior and exterior), taken a hairdressing course, assisted with chores in a horse barn, owned a cleaning business for 3 years, and much more. I can cook a few traditional mennonite meals and I'm capable of doing minor clothing alterations with a sewing machine.
I've always wanted to be fluent in another language (or several languages). I took french in school up to grade 7, but have since then lost most of what I learned. I'd love to get that knowledge back, and then some.
I also took guitar lessons for a little while and would love for someone to teach me more.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share a kitchen and some basic cooking skills, and I can share of myself and my experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Guatemala, Kenya, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rebecca’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups