Rebecca Mikesell's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 85% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rebecca’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 45 References 39 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chamorro, English; learning French, Hindi
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Barista
  • A.A. Degree
  • From Guam
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

For as long as I can remember, I've always had a yearning to just pack up my bag and hop on a plane to a destination far away.Perhaps it's because I grew up on a tropical island in the South Pacific and spent my childhood on planes to visit family to the U.S. and abroad. When I was in my 20's, I decided to do a student program Italy and I've been traveling at every opportunity since. I live in the Emerald City(Seattle ) slingin lattes for Starbucks. I love my job because I can talk to people all day, drink coffee all day, and have the flexible schedule that allows me to take off for a month and backpack somewhere. The PNW is an amazing place to live and I spend my free time exploring the mountains,coastal areas, and rain forests (yes,we have rain forests ) of this green paradise. I love cooking and learning about new dishes all the time. I can cook a really good shahi paneer(spent quite a bit of time learning Indian dishes while I was there), and I love figuring out the best way to pair the food with wine!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Way back before Couchsurfing existed, I stayed in hostels for the chance to meet other likeminded travelers who were interested in making friends. The idea was that if we ever visited each others countries, we had a place to crash. Over the past 13 years of travel adventures, I've had the opportunity to visit some of these friends. When I found out about Couchsurfing I was a bit hesitant to consider it as a single female traveler but I love the idea of opening up my home to others. I thought it wouldn't hurt to give it a try.
***IMPORTANT!***I ablsolutely love meeting Couchsurfers and I'd love to host as many people as I can BUT I recently acquired a roommate who isn't as trusting. She gave me a stipulation that she will only approve a Couchsurfer who has 5 positive references. Don't lose hope if you are new to CS!!! She wasn't specific. SO, that means , if you were to go and have 5 of your friends join CS and give you a POSITIVE reference, you'd at least be considered. It's up to you to make the decision on whether it's worth it!!!I'm sure most of you have friends or family who can help you out here! :)
I do get a lot of requests , especially during the summer so I apologize if I don't respond right away. I will respond. Also, I suggest you read this if you are new to CS or feel like you are constantly getting rejected.
http://bornglobals.com/en/2016/08/good-request-couchsurfing-message-example/

Interests

All things Coffee. I work in Specialty Coffee so I've made it a passion to learn all I can about.I even love to travel to places where it's grown ! Hiking and camping take up most of my time during the non rainy months here in Washington but I also try to get out on the water for paddle boarding when the weather is warm enough. During the rainy season, you'll probably find me wholed up at home painting or reading about travel,food, or languages. I love learning languages and I'm currently trying to improve my hindi as well as brush up on my rusty french. I'm a bit shy about speaking so please feel free to start the conversation. At least I'll try!

  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • coffee
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

lately, I've been listening to an eclectic mix of music. I love Indian classical and Bollywood music(being close friends with a Bollywood D.J. may have fostered that interest) but I also enjoy anything I can dance to!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I took a ride in an air balloon over the Nile river at sunrise. Still one of the most amazing memories I have to date.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always curious to learn new things,especially cooking. If time allows I'd love to cook with others and see what happens! I can also make you a pretty decent masala chai. :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you are a coffee lover, I am more then willing to bring you delicious coffees!
i love to cook and I can make a pretty good cup of chai.
I've always loved learning languages so if you want to practice your English, I'd love to help!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, British Indian Ocean Territory, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Northern Mariana Islands, Panama, Scotland, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Guam, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rebecca’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups