R. Youssef's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 96% response rate
  • Last login 3 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see R.’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - International
  • 54, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Bertelsmann Group - Berlin
  • English Literature & Arabic Language
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Travel is my passion! Having grown up in various countries, I've always enjoyed discovering this incredible and unpredictable world.
Currently calling Berlin home for the past ten years, I've developed a deep appreciation for this vibrant city and its diverse culture. I have a penchant for fruits and vegetables.
In my interactions, I value people for who they aspire to be rather than solely judging them for their current state. For me, life is all about perspective, and cultivating a positive mindset is key. Above all, I believe in mutual respect as the cornerstone of every interaction.
I am looking forward to connecting with like-minded individuals and sharing memorable experiences together!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My journey as a Couchsurfing host began years ago, inspired by living in the pilgrimage path and at the foot of Mount Sinai, known localy as Moses mountain and a desire to impart valuable example to my then seven-year-old son about the beauty of sharing and embracing cultural exchange. Please read some earlir reviews in the References section.
Since then, I've opened my doors to countless wanderers, offering not just a place to rest but a genuine connection to the soul-stirring landscapes and warm hospitality of mountainous desert regions and valleys

In addition to hosting travelers through Couchsurfing, I've also embarked on the enriching journey of welcoming volunteers through platforms like HelpX.net.
The experience has been immensely rewarding.
Please check the photos album: "Volunteers & Help Exchange" !

As some of my guests have fondly remarked, once you arrive, you may find it hard to leave.

Interests

I'm deeply passionate about life, earth, and people. Nature is my playground, and I'm always up for exploring its wonders.

Desert wanderlust runs through my veins, fueling my adventures near and far. I love rocks of all typs! When I'm not on the move, you can find me in a state of meditation, silent and still, just as a rock, seeking inner peace and clarity.

I express myself through art, whether it's capturing moments through videography and photography, woodworking, or graphic designing.
I love teaching Arabic and sometimes English as second languages. I love sharing my knowledge if needed and learning from others for sure.

  • arts
  • photography
  • dining
  • meditation
  • jazz
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • contemplation
  • cooking together
  • making short documentaries
  • reflections

Music, Movies, and Books

- Music:
Sufi Jazz, Blues, Classic, and more!
- Books:
Emotional Intelligence
- Movies:
Ron Fricke's The Qatsi Trilogy:
-Koyaanisqatsi ❤️‍🩹
-Powaqqatsi 
-Naqoyqatsi 
Also, and more known of Fricke's:
-Chronos
-Baraka 🤍
-Samsara

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- In the early 90s, and for seven years, I guided and led a few hundred tours in Egypt. The most significant of these were the ones with the Multinational Force and Peace Observers (MFO) in Sinai.
- 2016, The Camino del Norte, 900 km. from Irun to Santiago de Compostela in 8 weeks.
- The Pilgrimage of Makkah.
- Mount Sinai, more than 80 times.
- ...
- Hate has no place in me!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to cook "Koshary" at the best 😀
I can also share my NLP audiobooks and musics.
I would like to learn new valuable principles.

What I Can Share with Hosts

.Coffee
.Immune-boosting, fresh herbal teas
.Respect and punctuality
.Quality time listening and engaging in deep and safe conversations
.I can also film and edit a memorable event or a joyful trip video.

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Denmark, Hungary, Israel, Kuwait, Netherlands, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Egypt, Germany, Kuwait, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see R.’s full profile.

My Groups