Rémi Rousselet's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 15 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rémi’s full profile.


  • 47 references 44 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Lutte contre le réchauffement climatique
  • Engineering school and Politics School
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please read this before messaging me : we are kind people and we love helping as much as we can, so I don't have problems with last minute request (and i already sent some so I know what it is). But my shared apartment is no free hostel either and there is no dematerialized booking system. My point is : I am a bit tired of "Hi, can I sleep at your place tonight ?" kind of requests. You should at least read my profile and send me a personalized request, showing that you made the effort of reading all the bullshit stuff that i took time to write. Perhaps it is bullshit, but i meant them when i wrote them 😇🙏. Unpersonalized requests will just piss me off and i won't accept them. Sorry not sorry...


I am a 28 year old cheerful french guy, the kind who loves philosophizing about life, art, politics, ecology and litterature around one beer, then two, then three... And then going home for a good sleep 😂

Fascinated, like so many people here, by new cultures and languages. I had my erasmus time and its amazing trips (Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Ireland) but i ve been back to France for five years, and prefer stability for my living place. I discover new cultures and ways of thinking by hosting couchsurfers or my erasmus friends when they come to visit ;)

What i'm doing with my life ? I've been in Aix en Provence and Marseille for my studies and went back to Paris to work for the Ministry of Environment and then for an association called "Démocratie Ouverte" which promotes a more open, inclusive and participatory democracy in France. I moved from Paris to Poitiers, then Nantes and now Rennes to work closer to local issues. My job is basically to counsel local "green" politicians. Bretagne is for sure one of the most beautiful region in France 😍

Ecology and facing climate change are the biggest challenge of our time. That's why i'm getting involved in my personal and professionnal life to adress this big issue. I am a member of several pro-ecology associations, I don't eat meat anymore, I do not take the plane either, and I work every day to try and design a better future for all. Quite challenging but i m enthusiastic 😉

My passions : history, politics, ecology, biking and for a few time, playing the guitar.

What i love and value most of all? Social interactions, meeting people, getting to know new people, new ways of thinking, new original visions about this incredible world we have, in spite of all the darkness you may also find in it. My credo is that there is always something new to learn. For that, you simply need to open your door and get out, no matter if it is rainy or sunny.... even better under the rain, actually.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting people and exchange about culture and life :) we can bring so much with our experiences, and it is always fun to share it :)


  • culture
  • books
  • photography
  • music
  • classical music
  • art history
  • history
  • world politics
  • litterature
  • foreign languages
  • tvshows
  • cultural differences
  • international politics
  • learning foreign languages
  • foreign films

Music, Movies, and Books

Music : rock (Jake Bugg, The Libertines, Pete Doherty, The Strypes), US Pop (Bruno Mars), french songs and disneys songs of course

Movies: Stanley Kubrick (Eyes wide shut), Martin Scorcese (The Wolf of Wall Street), Quentin Tarantino (The Hateful Eight), David Fincher (Fight Club), James Cameron (Titanic), Pirates of Carraibbean. But also Groundhog Day, Nosferatu, Doctor Caligari's cabinet, french films noirs and american old movies (Billy Wilder, Hitchcock, Fritz Lang).

Books: classic french books (Victor Hugo, Maupassant, Flaubert), russian authors (Tcheckhov, Tolstoi), central europe litterature (let's talk about Stefan Zweig and Franz Kafka), and other continents that i need to explore and discover :). I am deeply fascinated by the life of all these authors, so i read a lot of biographies too.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent one amazing week in Finland just kayaking on huge lakes in the National Park of Linnansaari, and camping in wild islands full of mosquitoes, making fire to get warm, looking at the sunset, sleeping under the tent.... enjoying nature, silence and peace of these huge large desert landscapes and space

Another epic adventure was my hitch hiking and couch surfing trip around Denmark. I met many good people, had some crazy moments on the road, slept in a bookstore one night, and came back with the strong belief that this world is full of good people, of kindness, gentleness and tolerance, and that solidarity is not a vain concept

Teach, Learn, Share

I was president of Engineers without Borders Provence for one year, it is an association of International Solidarity and promoting Sustainable Development. I learned so much and met so many people :) inventing new models of society, if possible better of course, is a day to day motivation for me. Meeting new people all the time, reading a lot, watching movies, going to conferences, exhibitions, museums, experiencing new things, that's my way to achieve it. Now i m a member of the WARN movement, which connects people to concrete solutions (ethical banks, cleaner transportation ways, local organic food, solidarity Initiatives) for a more desirable future and society.

I also love learning new languages and teaching some funny french words.
I can speak hours about politics, geopolitics, arts, litterature, languages, travels, history, movies, TV shows, stupid jokes (the more stupid, the better), music, and also spend hours just shutting my mouth and listening to people, because listening is awesome when you take time for it :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am easy going, i love talking about everything and share my experiences. I can of course show you around the city if i am the host, or accompany you for a drink and an exploration if i am the guest. We can exchange feelings and impressions in both cases, and more important, jokes haha. Joke is life. Books are too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Croatia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Moldova, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Rémi’s full profile.