Theresa Lee's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Theresa’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in English, French, Korean; learning German, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • PhD Student
  • University of Toronto, McGill University
  • From Seoul, Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

I've got a bit of artistic and nerdy side. I love learning and seeing new things, which is why I love to travel. I also love to meet new people and learning about their stories and experiences, while I continue to make my own.

Born in Seoul, grew up near Toronto, went to university in Montreal, with stints in British Columbia and Gold Coast, Australia and currently back in Toronto. Currently relocating to Brazzaville, Congo.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I will be working in Brazzaville for the next year. I would love to meet up with likeminded or other interesting folks!

Interests

Wherever I am, my life tends to be drawn to anything related to jazz, music, swimming, cycling, places where the sun shines bright, learning about new cultures and languages, mobile technology, health issues, architecture, cycling, and food!

  • cooking
  • technology
  • traveling
  • music
  • jazz
  • cycling
  • scuba diving
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • languages
  • health

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: (500) Days of Summer, Moonrise Kingdom, Royal Tenenbaums, An Education, Amélie, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Shawshank Redemption, Old Boy, Boys Don't Cry, V for Vendetta, Catch Me If You Can, Good Will Hunting, The Alien series, all things Pixar. A fan of the mindf*ck genre, and I can be a sucker for indiesque Romcoms.

Books: Infections and Inequalities by Paul Farmer resonates with my life philosophy, as does the work of Norman Daniels. Other authors responsible for my current imagination: Jose Mauro De Vasconcelos, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Murakami, L'Engle, Crichton, Linwood Barclay, JK Rowling, Scott Adams.

Music: Chopin, Rachmaninov, Dave Brubeck, Chet Baker, The Cardigans, Muse, Stars, Metric, Iron & Wine, Justin Nozuka, Melody Gardot, Misteur Valaire, KYO. Electroswing has been a recent favourite - Caravan Palace is great.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Gazing at the Milky Way from the Northern-most tip of New Zealand; Diving through the corals of the Great Barrier Reef, Climbing to the highest summit in South East Asia at Mt. Kinabalu in the Borneo, Riding into an active volcano among the glaciers of Iceland,

Teach, Learn, Share

I love perpetually learning. I am currently pursuing PhD studies in Health Policy, trying to help improve population outcomes. There's a lot of room for improvement for public health all around the world, so I'd like to one day work in global health or for the World Health Organization or UN. I've yet to see much of the world so I'm pretty determined to create opportunities to travel and learn all that I can by meeting new people, going to different places and seeing new things and hosting if I can :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love cooking! I'm a big fan of Gordon and home cooking. I have a pretty good palate, and am pretty adventurous. I try to source ethically if I can but I'm definitely a non-judgmental omnivore. Bring on your appetite :) Always happy to put heads together and multiply some cooking knowledge.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, France, Hungary, Iceland, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, South Korea, Sweden, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, South Korea

Join Couchsurfing to see Theresa’s full profile.

My Groups