Richard Hickling's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile.


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Fintech Consultant
  • BSc
  • From Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm all about learning. I want to learn all the time - about science, culture, philosophy, psychology. The internet is a great tool - but nothing substitutes the reality of being there. Therefore travel is a huge part of my life.
I traveled widely when I was young - visiting over 80 countries - and now, married with 3 children I share this passion (as part of the passion for learning) with my family.
But I like to have fun and socialize meeting people is what travel is all about. It's great to share experiences. Typically socializing happens around food. The diversity of food is another inducement to travel.
All in all what I'm talking about is the enjoyment of life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Travel and meeting people - that's what it's all about!


  • arts
  • culture
  • photography
  • skiing
  • history
  • philosophy
  • science
  • software
  • food
  • different cultures
  • free software

Music, Movies, and Books

Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Nick Cave... but many many others.
Brazil, The Piano, American Beauty... many more
American Pastoral, The Road, Thinking Fast and Slow, The Big Short, ......... more more more

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Went around the world with my wife and 4 month old daughter.

Teach, Learn, Share

Yes, very happy to do Teach, Learn and Share!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Knowledge of wide areas of science, philosophy and cultural interests. Introduction to my family members: I always travel with at least one!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jersey, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Martinique, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Philippines, Qatar, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Belgium, France, Hong Kong, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile.

My Groups