Richard Hornby's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Science and Maths Tutor and Educational Consultant
  • MSci and PGCE from Durham University, UK
  • From Leeds, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me


To see nature at its best.


I'm a physics / maths teacher, who likes to explore new places. I enjoy the company of others, and meeting new people, and also the great outdoors.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm happy to host at my home in Durham.

Please note that I am happy to do "longer notice" surfs - just let me know when you're in the area, and I'll see if I'm free.


astronomy, music (I play several instruments), motorsport (watching, not participating!), computers, geology, walking, the great outdoors, wildswimming, geocaching.

  • walking
  • eating out
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • camping
  • astronomy
  • teaching
  • geology
  • mathematics
  • physics

Music, Movies, and Books

I have pretty varied tastes in music, all the way from cheesy Europop to Symphonic Metal via Classical and Rock. I like most movies, but not ones with blood and gore in them, as it's one of my phobias.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching the sun rise from (near) the top of Mount Teide in Tenerife, and camping in Iceland have to be highlights.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to share a few English folk songs, and also my love of Astronomy!

Countries I’ve Visited

Iceland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile. It’s free!