Richard Pitwood's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 17 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Czech, Italian, Spanish
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Translator/Interpreter
  • MA University of Portsmouth
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I am a translator (Fr and Ger to En), single dad with 3 children, none still living at home. I work from home and get up very early, so don't wake me up in the night.

No dogs as I have two cats. Please be accepting of pork, alcohol, dairy etc.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I was a student (late 80's-early 90's) I hitch-hiked many tens of thousands of miles all over Europe (iron curtain permitting), and I was sometimes given a bed for the night. We didn't have the internet (or Ryanair) then, but I would definitely have been a couchsurfer, so I am repaying society now for what people did for me 30 years ago.

I travel alone a lot, going to conferences etc. I hate sitting alone in a hotel room, much better to have a potential friend to visit... I enjoy the company - "If ivver tha dost owt fer nowt do it fer thissen".

##Please note due to my location (I assume) I appear to be very popular. I have only just restarted doing this, but I now have couchsurfers asking to stay almost every day. PLEASE don't be offended if I turn you down for spurious reasons like 'I'm busy', it's simply that I don't always want people to stay :( sorry. You will have more luck during the week rather than weekends. You can ask last minute as sometimes I don't know what I'm up to, but please don't ask weeks in advance - why should I commit to hosting you if an opportunity to get away suddenly appears?

Also if you're last minute I may already have someone staying. I have one spare room of hotel standard, but there is plenty of room for camp beds.

So, please ask, but you need a backup plan.

Thanks xx

Interests

I like travel and real ale, obviously anything language-related. Recently got into yoga, tantra and other exotic spiritual stuff.

I set up the French language meetup group in York http://www.meetup.com/yorkfrench/

I help run the York Beer Festival (mid-September) http://www.yorkbeerfestival.org.uk/ Tell me, people from Munich, how many different beers do you have? We have 400, plus 200 ciders, and all the other drinks.

Nudity/naturism: If you fancy running around the house and garden naked (weather permitting) I won't stop you, I do too (usually when I'm by myself).

  • cats
  • cooking
  • beer
  • yoga
  • running
  • traveling
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I haven't much listened to music since it was on cassette tapes, so whilst your guitar will be a pleasant diversion I'd rather chat.

Couchsurfers I've had have been from:

Germany (many)
Chinese from Taiwan, Hong Kong, PR China, Singapore
USA
Japan
France
etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I learned 2000 words of Hungarian in 2 months before a holiday there a bout 5 years ago. I could read all the menus, street signs, the lot. All I remember now is csütörtök = Thursday and hintőpor = talcum powder.

I've been through Checkpoint Charlie. I bet you haven't.

I intend to repeat my Hungarian stunt with Czech before I go there in September 2018.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you want to learn about beer or being a translator, ask me.

In the dialect of English spoken in York (and east towards Hull), the words 'surfer' and 'sofa' sound exactly the same. So... 'couchsofa', 'sofa surfer', ....whatever.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Spare room with double bed. Maybe some cushions off the sofa if you have a friend as well.

I know York well, so if I'm not busy I'd be happy to give you a guided tour or take you out for a beer.

The list of 'countries I've visited' should include some that no longer exist: German Democratic Republic, Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia, Soviet Union

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, France, United Kingdom, United States, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile. It’s free!