Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rich’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 17 References 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Project Manager
  • University of Life
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Becoming the best me that I can be each day.

ABOUT ME

Single guy just trying to make his way in the world. I'm very open-minded and love discussing ideas, current affairs and challenging paradigms.
I dislike labels, however, I identify as gay for your convenience, though females are not a mystery to me nor unattractive and I'm always open to possibilities.
I've made a huge career change over the past couple of years and moved from public service to private sector consulting as a project manager.
Returned from traveling overseas as part of this change period and had a great opportunity to reflect.
I know I've said above that I'm open-minded, however, I've also said that I identify as gay... I see a lot of other people saying in their profiles that they are open-minded with no other indicators as to what this may mean. I'm starting to wonder whether this is now some code for varying degrees of sexuality in some instances - is this the case??

PHILOSOPHY

My goals are self-centred around becoming the best version of me I can be each and every day. Might sound selfish but I don't throw stones from my glasshouse and the only way I can optimise my service to others is to firstly respect myself.
My property development endeavours are my chosen vehicle to generate the capital I will need for some of my big ideas. For now though I need to keep food on the table and a roof over my head with some corporate toil.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I see CS as a great way to meet new people from all around the world, learn new things and have some great experiences that might not otherwise be available to 'touristy' tourists!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed with two hosts in the US and hosted several times at my old place in Melbourne. Have hosted a couple of great surfers since moving to Sydney.

Interests

All things property and poker. Art, history and love of books. Spending good times with family & friends. Love to cook when I have the opportunity to share a meal at home with friends or family. My retirement 'plan' is to travel the world following international poker events and pursuing other business opportunities along the way. I would very much like to have a 'partner in crime' for these adventures so that we can share the journey.

  • arts
  • books
  • causes
  • dining
  • cooking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • coding
  • poker
  • business
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Fairly eclectic tastes so easier to state what I don't like so much:
Movies - not really into 'chick flicks'
Music - nothing 'too' country or 'too' heavy metal
Books - not into fantasy

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The highlight of my former career was spending some time in a conflict zone. Professionally rewarding, eye-opening, thought provoking and challenging on a number of levels.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an ideas guy so always keen to work on ideas so happy to workshop with other entrepreneurial types. Also love discussing politics and social policy type topics. Basically, any topic that causes me to think beyond my own bias is great as I like to expand my thinking and challenge accepted norms.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bahrain, Barbados, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Iraq, Japan, Kuwait, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Qatar, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Rich’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups