Rieke Kirchner's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rieke’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Student
  • German High School Degree
  • From Großbeeren, Brandenburg, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Rieke (yes, that is the name that is printed on my passport and is pronounced as you would the name "Enrique" without the En-)

Thanks to my parents, who were very much into travelling and took me to New Zealand for the first time when I was not even 2 years old, I had the possibility to already witness the beauty of many places around the world. In school I than experienced my love for languages, I probably did inherit this pleasure from my mom.

I am a little bit of an introvert, though usually without difficulties opening up easily to people. Smalltalk is not really my thing but I try to adapt as best as I can - I just sometimes need a little bit of lone time or starring around time, as I especially like to learn new things simply by observing my environment ;)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

During the last years I noticed that if you travel to countries it is not about the places you visit, which stay as memories in your mind.
It is more about the people, who make your experience to an unforgettable one. That is also what I experienced during the few couchsurfing experiences I made.

For this reason I want to participate in couch surfing and the community around it. I want to meet (more) interesting people, who have a story to tell, learn from them and after all get to know the countries from a local’s perspective.

Interests

  • salsa dancing
  • yoga
  • surfing
  • volleyball
  • learning languages
  • musicals
  • self-improvement
  • stand up paddle
  • reading and writing

Music, Movies, and Books

I have read so far quite a lot of books but I used to read more in my free time. During busy times, however, it is now not always easy to incorporate this habit into my everyday life. Same for movies.

There are as well different kinds of music I love, e.g. chart-music, 80’s, but also musical and film scores and Latin American music. During the pandemic I particularly rediscovered my passion for musicals. Generally, music is key. It is truely a life saver and has helped me going through some dark times.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbing (almost literally!) Table Mountain in Capetown this year.
Going surfing in various countries - so far in South Africa, France, Portugal and Australia
Taking dancing lessons at age 17, through which I encountered one of my true passions.
Spending one exchange semester in beautiful Salamanca/Spain
Being an active member of our local student ERASMUS initiative (WILMA Leipzig)

Teach, Learn, Share

For very sportive human beings I can teach how to make a forward flip on a trampoline, which I have practiced myself since I was six years old. However, I am not good at teaching Salsa as I only barely know the men's steps.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories about experiences that I made in the 26 years of my life, which I feel are quite many so far and the amount of new ones is currently growing with every new month.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, South Africa, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Rieke’s full profile.