Rita Solem

Billings, MT, United States

Accepting Guests

  • 81% response rate
  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rita’s full profile. It’s free!


  • I'm officially retired (whatever that means)
  • Bachelors degree in Social Work
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I like to fill my house with interesting people.


I am a 67 year old independent being who is also a wife and mother and (as of one month ago) a grand mother. For 10 years I worked as a volunteer for Youth For Understanding, an organization that finds homes for highschool students that want to study in the United States. Besides finding homes for kids from all over the world, nine kids have called my house home for up to a year at a time. Now it's my turn. My husband and I have family on four continents now and have visited several of our exchange kids in their homes. Mark (my husband) is still working in our family cabinet shop but I have time to see the world. I love learning about the history of the places I travel and I like active vacations. I appreciate people who can accept my social blunders because I'm sure to make them even though I don't intend to. I like to play cards and board games and enjoy watching movies and reading books. I love to travel and experience new things. My favorite travel experiences have included swimming in cenotes in Mexico, exploring ruins in England, archiological sites in Honduras, white water rafting on rivers in America,and partying at Octoberfest in Munich with one of my German daughters and her mother. Because of my age and physical stamina I have gotten away from some of the more risky activities but still love to explore the back roads. Big cities are fun to visit for short times but I prefer the rural areas where I can find a quiet place just to watch the world go by and observe and interact at my own pace.


Everyone is worth knowing if you give them a chance. I'll give you a chance if you do the same for me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I hope to host you and be invited to couch surf or even just exchange advice on how to travel and what to see in your part of the world.


We have stayed with families in Sweden, Germany, and Japan but I think the most interesting experience was sleeping on the floor of a Shinto Shrine in Japan. The uncle of my Japanese daughter is a Shinto priest and he performed a Shinto ceremony for us and let us all sleep on pads in the shrine the night before we were to hike up Mt Fuji.


I like to learn about the history of every area I visit. I love flowers, particularly wildflowers, beautiful countryside, gardens of all types, native birds, driving the backroads, canoeing, rafting, etc. I enjoy craft fairs and learning new things.

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite Movie/ Chicago
Favorite Book/ Pillers of the Earth by Ken Follett
Music/ Blue Grass, Fiddle music,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My most amazing experience was swimming in a cenote that had to be accessed through a cave. The cave was in the Yucatan area of Mexico and about two years after this experience I saw a story about that same cenote in the National Geographic magazine. They were pulling out the skeletons of natives that had been sacrificed there 600 years before. The locals were watching us but didn't go in. They obviously knew something we didn't know.

Teach, Learn, Share

If time and weather permit I can take you or direct you to some really amazing back country you would never find on your own.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Rita’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups