Alice Retson's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alice’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Japanese; learning Chinese, Korean, Polish, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Real Estate Valuer, Experimental Chef, Pastry Instructor,...
  • University- Bachelor's Degree
  • From Chicago, IL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I don't want to have a dream job, I want to have a dream life

ABOUT ME

I've been living in Beijing for four years. I originally came as an English teacher, but now I have a day job doing real estate valuation and a night job in a cultural center and a travel company developing culinary programs, teaching cooking classes, and organizing trips.

I eat vegetarian as much as possible (seriously not easy in a lot of countries) so I'm happy to give and get advice on traveling vegetarian or vegan.

PHILOSOPHY

It's not good, it's not bad, it's just different

This goes for countries, food, cultures, religions, clothes, lifestyles, everything. No one country or culture is inherently "better" or "worse." Each has its strong and weak points with different things to teach us.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host when I can, and if I can't I can probably still show you around. My area is food and cuisine, so if you want a market tour or cooking lesson I'm your gal!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been hosting, and I haven't gotten out much to be hosted lately, but I always enjoy meeting fellow CSers when I travel.

Interests

Languages, traveling, cooking, knitting, hiking, biking, reading

  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • marathon
  • instructor
  • clothing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • teaching
  • languages
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite author is Haruki Murakami, my favorite actor is Will Ferrell and my favorite kinds of music are jazz, classical, and super upbeat pop music that I am way too old for but still love anyway.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

ONE amazing thing?! I have to choose just ONE!??!?! OK, the Angkor Wat half marathon

Teach, Learn, Share

As a cooking instructor, I can teach you all kinds of Chinese and western dishes. When it gets colder, I can teach you how to knit a hat for the Beijing winter. Plus,I used to be a language teacher if you're looking to brush up on some English grammar or Chinese characters while you're visiting ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Anything I can! I'm more interested in learning than sharing when I'm with a host, especially in a new country. If you want me to bring something from far away, or teach you something while I'm there, anything I can do to make the most of our brief time together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Macedonia, Malaysia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Panama, Philippines, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Japan, Poland, South Korea, Thailand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Alice’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups