Rob Bekker's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile.


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 51, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Developmet worker with disempowered peoples
  • Masters Internation Development, BA Community Development
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


To share life: its' good times and sad/challenging times with people from my country and the world


Hmmm, well I love socialising, I'm a people person and i love bringing groups of individuals together.Spending time with new people energises me. I have spent many years traveling the world, i have Driven a tour load of travelers through Africa from London to Nairobi via West and Central Africa, i have traveled most of Asia, the Pacific, Sth and Central America and Europe.I have a passion to help those less privileged in our world and i have worked and volunteered with numerous groups including Disabled Adults, Asylum seekers, refugees and marginalized people living with struggling conditions. I have a keen interest in supporting social and environment issues and have been very active in social empowerment movements.There's lots more...


Look forward in life.Try to look at the bright side of things. Do the things I say I will do.Get on with Life

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I will happily join in with every day activities of any house hold that hosts me,i can cook and have no issues with cleaning up after myself.I do need a little private time, but i also really enjoy spending time with new people.


For years prior to couch surfing starting i hosted travelers in my home, i have also stayed in numerous peoples homes during my travels. i am so glad that couch surfing has started as some of my most memorable experiences have been with people i have stayed with or who have stayed with me.


World Music, travel, people, life and it's ups and downs, supporting the environment and dis-empowered peoples, attending fun performances, discussing life,spending time with good friends, making new friends.

  • environment
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • music
  • world music
  • surfing

Music, Movies, and Books

Non fiction travelogs, Informative documentaries, Art house movies, Movies from around the world. Listening to World Music and dancing to African Music

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Currently traveling around Myanmar, ive been here 3 months.. I drove a bus full of travelers through Africa for 6 months. Ive hitchhiked through the Kalahari desert (and forgot to take a hat). I have worked in remote Australia Aboriginal communities. i have met amazing people from all parts of the globe.I have taken part in the lives of marginalised people and witnessed huge changes in their lives.

Teach, Learn, Share

To share life and all its diversity, the learnings / expeiences i have acquired in my lifetime and to take part in the lives of others and share their learnings.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Western Sahara, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Fiji, Germany, Netherlands, Philippines, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile.

My Groups