Logo orange

Robert Trudel

Montréal, Québec, Canada

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Robert's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Italian, Russian
  • 66, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • retired
  • B.A.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To get out of my shell and open up to people

ABOUT ME

Young sixty plus and counting. Bald. 5'9", 210lbs. Certainly not a party goer. Single by choice (or circumstances?) and no kids.

PHILOSOPHY

Live and let live (ja, Leben und Leben lassen) - but don't invade my space too much.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHS. I can host one person: female only. (PS: I will be travelling April 15 to 22...so if you need a place for those dates, let me know, perhaps you can stay here while I am away....

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfing: as a host: I tried it twice and though the experiences were not altogether negative, they were not terribly positive either. Perhaps I shall give it another try. So far I am better as a guest, as can readily be seen by the number of positive esperiences. Couchsurfing experiences as such: In Québec city, In Metz (France) and in Bern (Switzerland). Excellent experiences, but it is soooooooooo cold (and extremely humid) in Europe in December: not the best time to visit if the wheather is your primary concern (unless you're going skiing in the Alps). Couchsurfed in NYC as well. NYC can be very intimidating - if you let it be so. Otherwise the place can be most charming. People are people, no matter where they are from. Most recent experiences in Germany. Loved Schloss Neuschwanstein, Munich and Berlin, a vibrant city looking to the future with gusto. In Köln. Very nice. A lot to see besides the Cathedral. Koblenz and Saärbrucken: too modern for me.

Interests

I buy used books from particulars and resell them to used bookstores. I also collect stamps.

Music, Movies & Books

Classical. "oldies". My preference is for "Krimis". Elizabeth George is at the top of the list.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I don't know about "amazing", but between the ages of 15 and 30 I never stayed in the same city (and sometimes not even the same continent) for more than two years. Also amazing - for me anyway - been around the world in 29 days a few years ago.

Teach, Learn, Share

The Olympic Stadium in Montréal is not just for tourists: it has a fully equipped gym, a number of swimming pools (including one for toddlers) and a spa (one in the men's locker room, and one, I suppose in the women's locker room as well). All of which you have access to with a daily pass (l0$), or cheaper rates for longer terms.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Love of books, in particular (especially what the Germans call "Krimis") and what Elizabeth George is terribly good at writing.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Robert's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile