ROBSFO's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 55% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ROBSFO’s full profile.

Overview

  • 144 references 123 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning English, French, Spanish
  • 90, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Urban/Transportation/Land Use Planner
  • Myriad college courses. A plenitude of travel.
  • From Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

SO SORRY IF I DON'T RESPOND TO YOUR REQUEST. I DON'T HAVE TIME TO GO THROUGH MY INBOX AND STILL HAVE A LIFE!

Sometimes I scan travelers and select people to host that I find interesting. It's good to have clear photos, and have created a profile that is engaging, and references are always good.

CSing is about so much more than staying somewhere for free, and if you don't take advantage of the opportunities to spend time with your host (or CSers) you're missing out!
Is it a dating app? The jury is still out ;^P

If I know you directly or indirectly, or if you're a bicycle tourer, message me!

CURRENT MISSION
I want to stop working and get out in the world again. Try and age backwards. Make stuff. Remodel the kitchen. Dance more, worry less.

ABOUT ME
I'm an infrequently-practicing artist and an architecture and design wonk.
I like things that stimulate my right-brain and my senses: food, wine, art, conversations, music, sex, smells, views, power tools, etc.
I have a bit of ADHD, and that's usually a good attribute.
I love to learn about almost anything.
I lean towards the gay end of the Kinsey scale, but not always. I have friends of many proclivities. You can be however you want in my home as long as you be true to you and don't make a big mess.
Cook, eat, grab a beer, sit in the garden, play with the cat, be at home.

I work as a planner. I use my job to promote sustainable transportation choices.

I love traveling, especially bicycle touring. I also love good design, gardening, cooking, all kinds of music, reading, film, country hikes, and city walks, and an after-work cocktail.

I have 2 very friendly cats that perform magic tricks. They can turn almost any backpack or suitcase into a cat bed.

MY PHILOSOPHY:
*Be kind. Be friendly. Be generous. Be grateful. Connect. Expand comfort zone. Exercise sense of humor.

How to be a great guest:
See above*

http://about.couchsurfing.com/about/resource-center/
http://about.couchsurfing.com/about/values/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Connect with all sorts of people everywhere, especially when it takes a little more effort .

Be grateful for whoever comes, because each has been sent as a guide from beyond.
--Rumi

Interests

Bicycling, bike touring, art, architecture, cities, urban environment, travel, collecting modern art, nature, beaches, wilderness, hiking and walking, reading, gardening and gardens, good wine, reading more, films, flirting, live music, watching Netflix movies, watching Giants baseball games if they're having a good year. Suggestions?

  • arts
  • architecture
  • design
  • modern art
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • wine
  • running
  • walking
  • gardening
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music? Everything from folktronica to classical. Turn me on to something.
Movies? I like going to the theater to see them. Too many to list here. Not a big fan of "action/adventure" genre.
Books? Too many to list here. Not a big fan of "action/adventure" genre.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have cooked dinners for Hunter S. Thompson, Bill Gates, and Steve Jobs. Only Bill survived, unfortunately.
I spent a month bicycling around Morocco, and another in Turkey.

Teach, Learn, Share

Share: Motown on Mondays at the Madrone Art Bar for best dance music ever. Free before 9.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLOYcYOGSXU

Teach: I can teach you how to cook something if you tell me what it is. Probably. Or you can teach me to make something that you like.

Share your music with me: In my kitchen, say "Hey Google, play [your favorite band]"
Everyone always hangs out in the kitchen.

Learn: more verbs in Spanish and French. I know the names of so many things, but can't talk about what to do with them.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Food. Wine. Camaraderie. Gratitude. Humanity. Ideas.
I take requests, and also make them.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Puerto Rico, Scotland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see ROBSFO’s full profile.

My Groups