Roman Pechenkin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 58% response rate
  • Last login about 22 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Roman’s full profile.


  • 21 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Icelandic, Russian; learning Finnish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Senior Software Engineer at CCP
  • Bachelor of Engineering (Robotics and Mechatronics)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm not a vegan, nevertheless, I'm a very friendly person who goes along with everybody. I can listen and I can talk. I prefer to get out of my comfort zone as often as possible in order to learn as much as possible about different cultures, this world and myself.

I'm a nature lover, very interested in art and science (especially Computer science that's my job and my hobby at the same time). I like opera and theatre, books, board games, most genres of music (but I think I prefer metal to other genres), I'm also keen on visiting various music events/concerts/etc.

I like being active so I do a lot of sport-related activities such as hiking, biking, swimming etc. I also practice yoga, meditation and sea swimming (yes you can do that in Iceland)

My job of a software engineer gives me some freedom that I use for traveling. I've visited 30+ countries and lived in 4 of them.

I can describe my philosophy with a quote from one of the Victor Pelevin's books: "I used to do a lot of traveling and then at some moment I suddenly realized that no matter where I might go, in reality I can do no more than move within a single space and that space is myself."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To discover this planet, people, cultures. Some individuals have a really fascinating mindset. Of course nowadays everybody claims they are open-minded but in fact they don't even know what it really means. But anyway it's worth the effort.


  • books
  • photography
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • music
  • swimming
  • computer science
  • nature
  • programming
  • meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

Series: Star Trek, Farscape, Firefly, Breaking Bad, Mr. Robot, The Expanse, Into the Badlands.

Movies: The Lord of the Rings, Dune, Shutter Island, Solaris (by Tarkovsky), Stalker, Flying over the cuckoo's nest.

Music: I prefer metal, but listen to more or less all genres. My favourite bands are Evanescence, Iron Maiden, Manowar, Dragonforce, Korpiklaani, Tanzwut, ASP, Nightwish, etc.

Writers: Jorge Borges, Erich Maria Remarque, Edgar Allan Poe, Dante Alighieri and others.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've seen a volcano being born. I felt the the earth shaking under my feet and I saw the lava flowing from a crack in the earth

Teach, Learn, Share

There's an endless amount of things that we can learn from each other so it's more the question of what you're willing to learn at the moment. I'm learning dancing at the moment, so how about learning some Brazilian zouk?

What I Can Share with Hosts


Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Iceland, Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Roman’s full profile.

My Groups