Ronja Kraus's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ronja’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Spanish, Swedish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • student, i just finished my Bachelor degree in Geography
  • No education listed
  • From Sweden and southern Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Life is as easy and as hard as they say. Your choices are half chance; but so are everybody else's..

ABOUT ME

I’m a 23 year-old happy and joyful human being who’s decided to leave the comfort zone of my daily life routine in southern Germany behind to go on a more meaningful adventure.

But before I go off the rails by telling you about my irresistible desire to travel the world I will tell you a bit more about me.
I was born in Sweden but I grew up mainly in Germany, sadly I didn't grew up bilingual. The day I finished school I packed my bag and went off to New Zealand.. like so many guys do I know, but I think for me that was great turning point. I lived and worked on several farms, hostels, eco-villages and two communities there and learned plenty big life lessons. After one year I left New Zealand and moved to a small but very beautiful town in southern Germany (Bamberg) where I earned my Bachelor degree in Geography. As a student you got a lot of free time and I used it to continue travelling. During my semester breaks I went off to Israel, Iceland, Norway, France and the Netherlands. I loved what I was studying but before I will start with my Master degree in Berlin I decided to use the time and freedom I got to start exploring the world again. I quit my flat and I'm not planning to go back for at least one and a half years.

Travelling.. I guess I think about it too much, practice it too much, and I even quit my job for that. What a weirdo :D My plan is to travel for one and a half year and to soak in all the experiences I’m going to make.
I want to learn a lot, travel even more and get into Buddhism, yoga, gardening and permaculture.

PHILOSOPHY:

In our society, things such as family life, personal relationships, money and careers are important. But so is growth, independence, personal exploration and happiness. Travelling provides us with freedom, the ability to enjoy new adventures and experience other cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I don't send random requests just to sleep for free. Hostels are not that expensive after all and I own a pretty good tent. What interests me in Couchsurfing are the great social and cultural opportunities that it offers. I see it as great chance to learn and grow in life. So in case that I contacted you, it means I'm really interested and already enthusiastic to meet you guys!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Overwhelmingly positive. A few weird experiences but no bad ones

Interests

I really want to get more into Buddhism, learn how to teach yoga, live in some self-sufficient communities and projects to learn more about permaculture and read all the poems from Emily Dickinson.

  • i love to dance
  • i'm really into music
  • addicted to hiking
  • so much more stuff would take ours to name

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Into the Wild (one of the best movies ever made!), Boyhood (never has a movie been closer to reality), Fightclub (well..fuck yeah), Darjeeling Limited ( I think all Wes Andersons Films are great I particular like this one the most)

I read a lot but the quality of the books are changing with my mood. Sometimes i like the lyrical good books..(for example Satre - La nausée or Paulo Coelho - Veronika decide morrer) and sometimes it is just really shitty stuff which i am not going to name here because i am a bit ashamed for them :D

I like all sorts of music that isn't metal or rock (dont hate!) I'am pretty into techno since i lived in Amsterdam but i think there is so much great music on this earth that i would never focus on just a few genres.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Did a 4 day hike in Iceland. Second day we started really early in the morning with the sunrise. After one hour climbing we reached the top of a mountain and had an epic view over the Vatnajökull glaciers. The color of the blue ice crushed mit the orange of the sunrise and we were able to hear the glacier moving! Will Never forget that.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can't cook.
I can't dance.
I can't paint.
I don't play any instruments.
I'm not funny.
I'm not bilingual - I barely speak German properly.
I'm not the tidiest person in the world, to put it nicely..
..i can teach you how to wiggle your ears

Hmm.. despite my good sense of humor I'm completely useless actually :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

i live in a very very smal flat, we need to sleep in the same room togheter. Got a nice rooftop i share with a bunch of really nice other home residents!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Jordan, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Netherlands, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Ronja’s full profile. It’s free!