rosa .b's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see rosa’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 25 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • No languages listed
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • not sure
  • bac international studies (hons)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me



learn about the world and make it better


I have recently moved to Zürich from Sydney to live with my boyfriend Franz. I will be working at the ETH (university) in the field of International Security, which I’m really looking forward to. I have a bachelor of International Studies and majored in German and history. I also took courses in anthropology, human rights and literature. I am pretty much interested in all of the social sciences. I like to stay fit and do a fair bit of rowing – it is really beautiful to experience Zürich from the water. I mostly lead a vegan lifestyle - firstly for ethical reasons but i also like the environmental and health benefits it gives. I like talking and listening to people. I am on a mission to find a career/life path i can look back on and be satisfied and happy about.

Franz comes from Germany and is currently doing his phd in electrical engineering at the ETH. He loves rowing and works as a rowing instructor at the uni gym. He is also concerned about the well being of animals and has been vegetarian for 15 years. He much prefers to be busy than spend time relaxing. He is very easy to get along with and is friendly and outgoing.


not sure i have one, well i probably do but it's not in words yet

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


a bit of surfing, organising and attending some events, starting to host now. so far cs has given me some really awesome experiences! i love it :)


reading, watching movies, vegetarianism/veganism, ethics, german, learning, traveling, going to the beach, cooking, meeting interesting people, art - going to art galleries as well as sometimes making my own, including hand made cards, painting drawing and some simple videos (not sure if they count as art), writing (sometimes, it can also be super frustrating), talking to my cool friends who dont live in the same place as me on skype, hanging out with my family, politics, current affairs, activism, the environment, social justice, appreciating nature, looking after the kids i babysit, going to op-shops/second hand clothes shops. Sport - i like partaking in: rowing, running, weights, bike riding, casual swimming at the beach, tennis, netball, touch football, hiking/bush walking. I like watching: rugby league, cricket, tennis, rowing.

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • literature
  • environment
  • human rights
  • ethics
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • running
  • instructor
  • walking
  • clothing
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • muslim
  • sports
  • cricket
  • soccer
  • tennis
  • rugby
  • swimming
  • rowing
  • netball
  • anthropology
  • engineering
  • history
  • social science
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

i love going to the movies, reading and listening to music and lectures on line


Before sunrise, Whale Rider, Shoppen, Im Juli, Barfuss, Vegucated, Das Leben der Anderen, Marina Abramovic: The Artist is Present, The Cove, Gegen die Wand, Silver Linings Playbook, The Intouchables, Babe, Milk, Erin Brockovich, Little Miss Sunshine, Wal-Mart: The High Cost of Low Price, Matilda, The Witches, Charlie and the Chocolate factory (old version), Monsieur Lazhar, Searching for Sugar Man, The Beach, Titanic, Spanish Apartment, Stories We Tell, Boyhood, Stranger than Fiction

All that I am, Brave New World, Babbitt, The Great Gatsby, The Surgeon of Crowthorne, Frankenstein, Eating Animals, Most stories by Roald Dahl, One Day, Stasiland

Youtube channels/podcasts/online media

Indie travel podcast
PBS frontline
Conversations with Richard Fidler
This American Life
Conversations with history
Sociology 150A (sociology/psychology lecture series from UCLA Berkley)
Hawaiian vegetarian society

Australian stuff I like - I often like to read/watch things about places I am going/have been so I thought I'd add this slightly annotated list in case you want to read/watch about places in Oz you're traveling to

Rabbit Proof Fence (Western Australia -€œ about the stolen generation)
Red Dog (Western Australia - ‚“ feel good story set in a mining town)romance drama)
Looking for Alibrandi (Sydney - about a high school girl who has conflicted feelings about her Italian family, also a œcoming of age story, picturesque scenes)
Molly and Mobarak (a documentary about Mobarak, an Afghan refugee who is given temporary asylum in Australia and moves to the rural NSW town of Young where he meets local teacher Molly-€œ about their personal relationship as well as reactions to refugees within the community)
Love and Other Catastrophes (set in Melbourne, the title is a good summary - about a group of twenty-something year olds)
The Castle (comedy set in suburban Sydney, it will test how well you've absorbed an 'œAustralian' sense of humour. It also references the landmark Mabo court case about Aboriginal land rights)
Somersault (set in Canberra and Jindabyne -€œ teenager runs away from home to Jindabyne where she tries to organize her life)
bran nue dae (a colourful musical about a road trip from Perth to Broome)

My Place by Sally Morgan (autobiography about life as an Aboriginal woman and her family growing up in Western Australia in the 1950s)
Ernie Dingo: King of the Kids by Sally Dingo (biography about Aboriginal TV presenter Ernie Dingo set in Western Australia and various other places in Aus)
The Secret River by Kate Grenville (set in Sydeny and the Hawkesbury River area, about a convict and his family starting life in Australia. Also explores how some convicts may have felt about and reacted to local Aboriginal people.)
The Lieutenant by Kate Grenville (set in Sydeny at Observatory Hill and other places - a novel based on the man who set up the first Observatory in Sydney and his attempts to learn and document the local Aboriginal language)
Queen Kat, Carmel and St Jude get a life (young adult fiction) by Maureen McCarthy (set in Melbourne and country Victoria -€œ a coming of age story,€œ 3 teenagers move into a share house in Melbourne when they start uni) Five Times Dizzy (read when I was younger) by Nadia Wheatley (set in Newtown, Sydney)
Strawberry Hills Forever by Vanessa Berry (set in Inner West, Sydney -œ a set of chapters about the authors observations of less visited areas in Sydney)
The Student Chronicles by Alice Garner (set in Melbourne, memoir, especially about uni life in the 90s. Author acts in 'Love and Other Catastrophe' (movie I mentioned above))
Helen Garner€œ an Australian author I've enjoyed, especially some of her short stories
Jeannie Baker is an amazing children's' book author and illustrator, i defs recommend looking at her picture books!

TV shows:
Always Greener (family drama contrasting life in the city with life in the country, the city part is set in Sydney, particularly Glebe)
Marking Time (similar to Molly and Mobarak, fictional)
The Slap
Sea Change

Music: Missy Higgins, Paul Kelly, The Little Stevies
Artists: Rosemary Laing, Margaret Olley, Margaret Preston, Max Dupain

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

bushwalking in the blue mountains and royal national park in Sydney
going to an Effective Altruism Camp in Switzerland
visiting Macedonia for a week and learning heaps about the country, culture and Islam
doing a 6 week German course in Leipzig with students from all over the world
rowing and coxing at the European University Games in Rotterdam
doing exchange in Freiburg
learning about animal rights and doing vegan activism with cool people
rowing camp in Taree on the east coast of Australia - it is so beautiful and was really cool to push my body like that
+ many, many more

Teach, Learn, Share

lots, hopefully - see my interests

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Laos, Netherlands, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see rosa’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups