Rosanna Powell

Sydenham, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosanna’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, German, Italian
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Medical Student
  • BSc(Hons), DipLang
  • From Daylesford, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


If you take life too seriously, you'll never get out alive.


“What should young people do with their lives today? Many things, obviously. But the most daring thing is to create stable communities in which the terrible disease of loneliness can be cured.”
― Kurt Vonnegut

I love to talk with people, sing with people and laugh with people.

I recently took a break from my job working in malaria research in Melbourne and swapped it for travelling through the malaria endemic areas of Asia by bicycle and cycled around Scandinavia and Cuba. Now I'm studying medicine in Sydney.


Keep on keeping on!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


When I'm travelling I surf and when I'm home I host. I like to get out and about in the CS community and get along to events from time to time. In Melbourne I hosted a weekly CS spanish exchange.

Our house is very CS friendly, expect many cups of tea and chit chat until the wee hours of the morning. Also, I love cooking for couchsurfers and I love when they cook for us, but I should mention (before you start planning an exotic traditional dish) that I'm vegetarian.


In no particular order, I have hosted people from right here in Australia, Germany, Poland, Russia, Israel, Canada, France, Belgium, Mexico, Austria, Finland, Wales, England, Sweden, Hong Kong, Denmark, Malaysia, Switzerland, Chile, Venezuela, USA, Italy, Korea, China, Brazil and The Netherlands. I have surfed in China, Italy, Sweden, Norway, Germany and Mexico.And met many more couchsurfers at various events.I'm keen to meet more interesting people from everywhere!


Music. It brings joy to my life. Guitar, piano, trumpet, singing. Travelling. Sustainable living. Urban design. Cycling. Photography. Drawing portraits of people with interesting faces. Squash. Culinary delights. Languages. Diversity. Rock climbing. Slacklining. Acroyoga. Picnics. Being outside. Meeting people in unexpected places. Tortillas, beans and rice. Brunch at any time. Learning. Science. A good laugh. A good joke. Cinema. Especially foreign language films. Snorkelling. Gardening and growing food.

Here's a link to some photos from my adventures:

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite book is called In the Lake of the Woods by Tim O'Brien. Other highlights are Shantaram, Brave New World and The Book Thief. I also read non-fiction books, I've been reading some of Tim Flannery's books on climate change, and I read a fair bit on philosophy and evolutionary biology. If you have any book suggestions for me I'd be happy to hear them!

I don't watch a lot of TV, aside from Lano & Woodley and Black Books.

I listen to lots of podcasts.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Survived a night in the mountains in Italy with just a damp towel as a blanket.

Here's a short blog I wrote about my cycling experiences through China:

visited 13 states (5.77%)Create your own visited map of The World or Brazil travel guide for Android

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to make some ace vegetarian food in a hurry. I can show you how to play a song or two on guitar. I'm more than happy to exchange languages with anybody.

At the moment I'm learning French and trying to keep practicing my Spanish and Italian but I'd like to learn some Russian and Mandarin before my next trip.

I want to learn more about permaculture and how I can make the most of my backyard. I'm currently trying to learn how to ride a unicycle. Perhaps you can help?

I also want to learn to sail.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, China, Cuba, Denmark, France, Germany, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Norway, Spain, Sweden, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Italy, Mexico

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosanna’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups