Rosario Di Vaia's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosario’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning Ancient Greek, Finnish, German, Latin, Polish
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • University of Helsinki - Physics
  • United World College of the Adriatic (NGO)
  • From Pavia di Udine, Udine, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I love making new experiences, trying and learning all sorts of things, whether it's sports, academics, food/cooking, movies... And of course traveling and meeting people!
Last year I graduated from a really cool international boarding school (UWC) where I've lived with people from more than 90 countries, 70% of us on a full scholarship.
This has further ignited my passion for travelling.
I am studying Physics in the University of Helsinki and enjoying the academic freedom that has allowed me to go on a two-months-long Interrail/Couchsurfing/backpacking trip.
After that, another four months of travelling, thanks to another scholarship: Semester at Sea. Half of the time at sea, attending university lectures on the ship, the rest of the time on field classes, programs, or independent travel in 11 different countries.
I am a nerd and I really enjoy talking about anything: Sciences, Politics, Philosophy, Economics, Psychology... Don't mind me trying to convince you that studying Ancient Latin and Greek for three years (4+4 hours a week!) was NOT a waste of time...
I'm really flexible as a host and as a guest, but I value early and thorough communication (as much as possible).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I really love travelling, learning about cultures and meeting new people.
I only started travelling very recently and always with scholarships, until I decided to check out couchsurfing for an Interrail trip.
I could have never imagined I would have such an amazing experience!
Couchsurfing ended up becoming the main element of the trip, from the excitement of getting to know hosts, to learning about their travel stories, their culture and passions, following their advice and recommendations...
I found so much humanity being welcomed in this community and I have recommended it to everyone I tell about my travels.
I really like having friends over and now I can't wait to be "on the other side", hosting travellers. I'm sure it will teach me to be a better host, guest and, above all, a better person.

Interests

  • cooking
  • politics
  • technology
  • board games
  • traveling
  • classical music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • gymnastics
  • economics
  • mathematics
  • philosophy
  • physics
  • psychology
  • climbing
  • sexuality
  • classic literature

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies, Books: My favorite genres have always been fantasy (Lord of the Rings, Merlin...), sci-fi (Doctor Who, Ender's Game...). As a child, I was in love with Greek mythology and my favorite hero was Ulixēs / Ὀδυσσεύς. I also read manga (AoT, One Piece) and, back when I had time, watched anime (Death Note...) and played videogames (Dark Souls&co, Fire Emblem, LoL, Super Mario Galaxy...)

Music: Classical, Jazz, Rock, Pop, Techno. I don't like rap. Sorry

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going to UWC Adriatic. I can talk for hours about how amazing an experience it was, how much it broadened my perspective on the world and how many opportunities it has opened up for me.
For example, over two years, I have had roommates from the US, North-Macedonia, Albania, Gambia and Indonesia.
I got very close to all of them and many more friends from all around the world

Teach, Learn, Share

Really anything, but here's some examples

Teach: Italian, Climbing, making pizza and other Italian food. Lots of board games and card games.

Learn: About your food, your history and culture, daily life, any random fact, any game...

Share: Our experiences/adventures of any kind, our views on matters like education, society etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Italian food, help with housework (cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping, dishes etc.).
If there's anything in particular you'd like from Finland or Italy (depending on where I leave from), do let me know so I don't have to overthink about what gift to buy😅😂
I always write references but sometimes it might take me a couple of days if I'm travelling: I try to write something meaningful that can serve as some sort of travel journal for me as well.
If you are busy, we don't need to hang out and you don't need to give me any advice, I can handle myself!
You are always welcome to visit me in Helsinki

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosario’s full profile.

My Groups