Logo orange

Rosie Forsyth

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Student/Reception
  • My mother.
  • From Katoomba, NSW Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to find it some day

ABOUT ME

Hi!! I am a smiley, chatty and chilled-out chick from the Blue Mountains in Australia. I am at university mostly, but I'm taking a break at the moment to travel. My best friend and me are about to travel with some clothes, a sleeping bag and not very much money. Should make for some interesting and fun times..... :)Update: Decided not to go home! Will be traveling for a further four or so months and I have much less money and lost so many knickers along the way.Update: And now I am home, so if you are headed for Katoomba I might take you for coffee if asked nicely :)Update: I've moved to Melbourne. So I'll let you know the plan.... Update: Passed my 1 year anniversary in Melbourne yesterday so come and stay on my couch and I'll try and show you around this amazing city.

Update: Back in Melbourne after travelling in Europe again. I've adopted two broke German backpackers at the moment, but when their gone I'll update my travel status. In the meantime, catch me for a coffee.

PHILOSOPHY

I miss the concept of community. In the western world it seems that supportive communities are almost gone. Everything is very individual and materialistic. I don't deny enjoying my comforts, but I am quite happy to rough it for a bit.
The world needs to get its act together and we need to start looking after and appreciating this amazing planet.

Interests

I cook, clean and sing songs. I read, write and laugh (and snort). I am interested in so many things that sometimes it becomes overwhelming and I fade out into another realm for a little while.

Music, Movies & Books

Top 5 books:
House of Spirits - Isabel Allende
Just Kids - Patti Smith
Reminiscences of the Cuban Revolutionary War - Ernesto Che Guevera
The Captain's Verses - Pablo Neruda
Barefoot Gen - Keiji Nakazawa
There are way too many though!!

My love of music is varied and depends usually on my mood. I spend one week listening to bluegrass, another to classical and another to experimental jazz. I always have time for boss beats though. Always.

Movies to watch with me:
Favourites include..... Princess Mononoke (actually anything by Miyazaki), Almost Famous, Lost In Translation, House of Flying Daggers, The Darjeeling Limited, Fifth Element, Amelie, Edward Scissorhands, Snatch, Fight Club, Breakfast at Tiffany's.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The overwhelming thing applies to here as well. Some amazing things in this realm are:
meeting soulmates all over the world. working for coked-up Italians in Venice - twice. travelling around on a bus with Native Americans as a child. working for the craziest party hostel I've ever stepped foot in in Budapest. moving to a new city, knowing nobody and believing it would be okay. most recently, going to a street party in that new city with free beer, free beats and beautiful people.
actually, every second or so day turns out to be pretty amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn more about other cultures, beliefs and the way people live there lives.

I think the most important thing that everybody needs to learn is respect (for other, yourself and the world).

Countries I've Visited

Croatia, New Zealand, Philippines, Sweden

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Italy, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile