Roya Eshraghi's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Roya’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Persian (Farsi), Spanish; learning Arabic, Japanese, Turkish
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • documentray filmmaker
  • Social Anthropology bachelor.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I studied Film (direction of documentary) and before that Social Anthropology.
Film Studies were in Cuba, for 3 years; graduated in 2015 and after that I had been travelling...
By that time, feeling much a nomadic spirit ... and my base is in Costa Rica.
After pandemic arrived, I decided to stay in Costa Rica and started to live in a land surronded by nature, started to grow and also adopted a cat! (Called pishi) the project is called Finca la Luna. Was created, with the vision to create a beautiful place where anyone who gets to know it feels uplifted and connect to his/her heart. Sounds of the river from far away, sounds of nature and birds all around... A place to retreate to your inner-self.

ABOUT ME

Iranian filmmaker based in Costa Rica feeling more like a world citizen...
A storyteller with no borders.

I believe we live in an interconnected world with invisible bonds .. beyond our imagination!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I always loved getting to know new people... being able to trust people and be trusted I think it's very nice and appreciated. Knowing that people can feel, they are all part of a community (human family) and they can collaborate to each other.

Interests

I love being surronded by the nature...
And I want to enjoy life from its simplest beauties ..

  • culture
  • poetry
  • documentaries
  • film making
  • yoga
  • movies
  • chess
  • painting
  • music
  • instrumental music
  • vipassana
  • sprituality
  • rumi
  • acrylic painting

Music, Movies, and Books

I love classical music, instrumental traditional, bossa nova, flamengo ...

books:
Spirituality: 7 Valleys from Baha'u'llah.
Poetry:
Sohrab Sepehri
Novel: 100 años de soledad by Garcia Marquez
Also, I enjoyed years before when I read prophet by Khalil Gibran

Movies: It's hard for me creating "favorite" films!
But well ... some films I have enjoyed watching:
Life is beautiful / Dancer in the dark / The Separation.
Drive my car (more recent) Departures, The farewell.

Among the ones 'less known':

Bela Taar's films, the last ones from Naomi Kawase, from Japan as well Kore Eda films and

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Little things that have amazed me, that for me have been like little miracles.

such as:
One time that I was filming the texture of a sacred tree in an indigenous community, and suddenly in the middle of the shot a hummingbird appears!

Doing Vipassana (10 days silence meditation) in India on my 34th birthday.

One of the journies which was on a row: Japan, Australia, India, France, Germany, England. One curiouse thing which happened to me right bwfore the travelking starts I found a letter I had wrotten for my grandmother at age 10 (whe granddad has passed away with a poem about life)
At the end of my journey she passed away and I participated at her funeral reading that letter she never had seen. And sharing the poem "where will I find you if not only in my memories"

synchronicities.

Seeing a shooting star a night I slept in front of the carribean ocean, exactly with a specific thought!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Farsi (if someone by any chance would be interested at!)
I would love to learn any new thing, I believe every single knowledge somehow is good...
I can share about cinema (iranian cinema or documentary filmmaking)
And about persian poetry... about persian culture if you are interested at getting to know..
Or sharing stories/experiences of the journeys.. or the places where I have lived in.
I can play chess with you if you would like to have a challenge!

What I Can Share with Hosts

(all that it is mentioned in teach/learn/share section above!)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Canada, Chile, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Germany, Greece, Honduras, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Nicaragua, Panama, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, Cuba, Iran

Join Couchsurfing to see Roya’s full profile.

My Groups