Ruben Portas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruben’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 16 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Galician, Spanish; learning German, Italian, Portuguese
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Wildlife Research Assistant
  • Forestry Technician, Studying B.Sc. on Natural Resources ...
  • From Pontevedra, Galicia (NW Iberian Peninsula)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Enjoying life and Nature & Wildlife Conservation

ABOUT ME
Chasing dreams where travelling and working for wildlife conservation are the main subjects.
I worked as forest fireman during seven years in Galicia (NW of Spain) See more here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhdWN2yZV9I and here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWu5l85k1vQ.
Life is unpredictable and sent me to Namibia where I am working on a cheetah population study. I will hopefully be there until at least 2018.

PHILOSOPHY
Well explained here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deep_ecology
and here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8DL-o-POcU

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I used to host and be hosted when I was travelling through Europe. it is now a little bit more difficult but if our paths cross, I will enjoy to chat and have a drink.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I met very nice, friendly, interesting and unforgettable people here!

Interests

Travelling, Visiting natural landscapes, Watching Wildlife in their natural habitats, Nature & Wildlife Conservation. I also like Photography, Sports, Music, Festivals and Gigs!

  • wildlife
  • photography
  • festivals
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • sailing
  • sports

Music, Movies, and Books

I usually read scientific papers and books edited by different universities about wildlife and conservation.

Movies: There is lots!

I listen many different kinds of music. It depends of my mood. I love celtic music and also like Pop & Rock.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Working between fires and helicopters was a pretty awesome job. I enjoy sailing with traditional boats in the galician sea coast. Travelling and looking at breath taking landscapes (Iceland was amazing!). Now living and working in Namibia is a great experience that allows me to enjoy nature at its best!

Countries I’ve Visited

Botswana, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Morocco, Namibia, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Namibia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruben’s full profile. It’s free!