Rudi Wijnacker's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 22 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rudi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 82 references 63 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Working, having good times and being open minded. Explori...
  • Bachelor Communications
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Jack of all trades: working as a photographer and carpenter, renting out a bungalow, organising events, managing my rowing team and always open for new opportunities. I work to live and prefer my social activities and health over work.
Recently I started to be vegetarian and parttime vegan.

PHILOSOPHY

Treating others the way I want to be treated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As surfer, host and initiator for local meetings I love to exchange with my guest. Whether it's experiences, culture, food or time. I love to show you around in my city or even further, my province.
I've been interviewed by the local newspaper about my CS-experiences (see photo's)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I Couchsurfed in India for the first time. Did a trekking in the Himalayas with another CS-er. Had a CS bbq on the Malaysian beach. Surfed at 5 addresses in Australia and had a great time with my hosts and hosted 2 of them at my place in return. Also did a jeep safari on an island in Oz with 2 other CS-ers.

Back home I've hosted surfers from Australia, Belgium, Ukrain, Russia, Germany, France, Poland, Sweden and an Iraqi/Syrian. I organised an India and a Nepal meeting and meet ups with local hosts. Earning karma points to the max! ;)

In 2016 I made a 300 km bicycle trip along the Belgian coast and couches to see what many CSers experience when they bumb into my place.

Hosting is traveling the world while being at home. Check out my Couchhosting adventures: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.474796199269462.1073741828.100002172596998&type=1&l=70162ac709

Interests

Traveling, photographing, running, life boat rowing, sharing time with friends (around the bonfire if possible), meeting new people and cultures and having good conversations and fun.

  • photography
  • bbq
  • yoga
  • running
  • traveling
  • survival
  • camping
  • rowing
  • volunteering
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: dance, poprock, populair (mostly just radio)
Books: Dutch thrillers, Shantaram, Power Of Now, Humankind (my latest recommendation! 🙏🏻) and several other esotheric books.
Movies: I'm not that kind of movie guy

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My 6,5 month journey. Meeting new people and getting involved into their lives. Like being invited by fisherman on the Indian coast (Candolim, Goa, India) to join them catching fish. Living and teaching in Buddhist monasteries, special schools and orphanages as a volunteer. Celebrating Tihar in Nepal and joining a local family while doing their celebration rituals.

But also random meetings with locals and other backpackers during traveling through India, Nepal and Australia. Not funny but very impressive: visiting Concentration camp Auschwitz, Poland. Shocking but really worth to see this.
Based in Vlissingen I’ve represented a Nepalese touring agency and arranged for about 50 Dutch and Flemmisch people the trip of their life to Nepal, India, Tibet and/or Bhutan.

Teach, Learn, Share

Photography, yoga, survival techniques and introducing Vlissingen and the province of Zeeland to you or have good talks about life around the bonfire in my garden.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to share my hospitality and make you feel home. Breakfast and drinks are included and I only host when I have time to hang or show around.
In return I would like if you share something from your country or culture in whatever way it is.

My advice to young/new CS-ers: CS is for sharing, not for just a free stay or party crash. ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Moldova, Nepal, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Rudi’s full profile.

My Groups