Ruth Stokes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruth’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Journalist
  • University and Postgraduate diploma in magazine journalism
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


To travel, learn about other cultures, to learn Spanish and live life to the full!


I'm a writer and editor, currently living in London and travelling Spain this summer. I love the great outdoors, nature, reading, writing, rowing, climbing (although I'm a beginner!), hiking, meeting knew people, chilling with friends, dancing, having a few beers...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet new people along the way while travelling, and for the cultural exchange.


Getting out and meeting new people with tea or drinks, helping out with sustainability/farming/growing projects. Discovering new places and learning new skills. Practising Spanish :)

  • writing
  • singing
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • running
  • partying
  • drinking
  • boating
  • traveling
  • music
  • sailing
  • rowing
  • freelancing
  • journalism
  • reading books
  • climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite books include A History of Insects, Freedom, The Constant Gardener, Restless, The Picture of Dorian Gray, One Hundred Years of Solitude, The Beach. Favourite movies are Little Miss Sunshine, Amelie, Life Aquatic, Stand by Me, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Aliens. Music: Bonobo, First Aid Kit, Yann Tiersen, Manu Chao, Jose Gonzalez, Nick Cave, Blur, Ibeyi, Lord Huron, Afriquoi...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sailing from England to France, with wild dolphins following our boat really close for a couple of hours, jumping and showing off. It was absolutely beautiful.

Teach, Learn, Share

Can offer English language skills, and writing/editing. Would love to improve my Spanish and learn about other cultures.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Decent cooking skills, warm and friendly attitude and interested approach to life. Can help out with shopping/cleaning etc while staying.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Ecuador, France, Italy, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Uruguay

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruth’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups