Ruth Kaye's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruth’s full profile.

Overview

  • 55 references 38 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Spanish
  • 51, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • English teacher and IELTS examiner
  • MA- English lit, Trinity TESOL Diploma, MA in TESOL and A...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To appreciate and make the most of my life , look after my health, develop myself, think positively and to be kind to other people.

ABOUT ME

I am currently teaching English for the Higher Colleges of Technology in Fujairah, UAE. I've been here since 2014.

I have lived and taught in many countries- Japan, China, Australia, Spain, India, Egypt, Sri Lanka, Kuwait and now here in UAE.

I love learning about different cultures, food, geographical features, languages and culinary techniques. I also love the way in which learning to adapt to another country gives you patience and you learn to be tolerant of others and see life from another perspective.

When I'm not teaching English, I like to spend my time walking, swimming, running, cooking, watching Netflix or meeting friends. I am also a qualified yoga teacher and teach a class once a week.

PHILOSOPHY

I am a peaceful person who likes to avoid antagonism. I know it's a bit of a cliche but I think you should always try and treat others how you would like to be treated yourself. If I can see a way to make someone happy then I will do it if possible.

Life is short. I try to focus on things which make me feel positive and block out those things which make me feel negative so as to avoid negative energy. This is difficult to do sometimes but it is what I aim for.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have surfed and hosted and I have also enjoyed the opportunity CS has given me, to meet other members and make friends outside work in CS social events. I have not been very active recently, due to not traveling because of Covid and also where I am living right now is not an easy place for a Couchsurfer to visit so I have not been hosting.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I began by hosting in Sri lanka when I didn't have a flat mate and wanted some company and fresh input from someone outside my workplace.

The majority of my experiences have been extremely positive. CS has enabled me to see beyond the famous sights in a country and to learn about different cultures, languages, cuisines etc. first-hand and to make new friends too, which I've really appreciated as a solo traveller. Sharing experiences with my hosts has actually been more meaningful to me than sightseeing.

In 2013 I travelled overland through Iran and Turkey and it was the first time I stayed solely with CS members rather than in guest houses. It was far better, actually, and I felt I really experienced a lot. Highlights were joining a host and his mountain-climbing group to climb a mountain in Iran, joining English classes and helping the students with their English, participating in an overnight stay in a peaceful village near Esfahan in Iran with my host and 30 of her friends, invitations for lunches in Iran with hosts and their friends, hitch-hiking with hosts in both Iran and Turkey and hanging out with them and their friends in cafes, clothes shopping with them etc..

Interests

My main interests are swimming, cooking, eating, yoga, walking, sunny weather, meeting friends, watching things on Netflix (since Covid) and, of course, travelling.

  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • yoga
  • walking
  • shopping
  • clothing
  • technology
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • solo travel
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy books which make me laugh or think or which teach me something. Authors I have enjoyed have been Haruki Murakami, Bill Bryson, Paul Theroux, Paulo Coelho, anything related to the Dalai Lama.

I like a wide range of music and what I listen to depends on my mood.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My most amazing travel experience for me was my month in Iran. I have never felt so at home outside my home country or such an amazing feeling of love between the people as I did there. The people, especially my dear hosts, were so welcoming and hospitable and I really admired the way they dealt with each other and their guests so positively. Spending time with my hosts and their friends was actually more interesting for me than anything I actually saw there and it's the first and maybe the last time I think I can say that about a country. This experience has also made thinking positively a key aim in my life.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would be happy to cook for my hosts and/or to share my travel experiences. As I am an English teacher and IELTS examiner I would also be willing to help my hosts with their English. I also do yoga every day and am a qualified yoga teacher so if anyone wants a yoga lesson, I can give one.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Macedonia, Malaysia, Maldives, Moldova, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, North Korea, Oman, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, Egypt, Japan, Kuwait, Spain, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruth’s full profile.

My Groups