Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 38 References 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese; learning Finnish, German, Icelandic, Norwegian, Romanian, Russian
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Software Developer
  • Bachelor's of Computer Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Current Mission: Japan!

We're a Canadian couple from the west coast, who are easy-going, friendly, and love to meet new people. Both of us have strong interests in travelling, nature, learning languages, reading, and games. We both enjoy going out as well as staying in, and are happiest when we have good company.

This profile was previously just Richard's, and most references reflect that, but now it is the both of ours.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We love to meet new people, and when we're not travelling, host others from around the world gives us the chance to enjoy the company of others from different cultures (even from within our own country). We also love it when others host us, and we love to be able to pay it back to the world. Couchsurfing is better than any hotel, and better than any Airbnb. It's more personal, and way more fun.


We're both strongly interested in darker music, especially industrial, gothic, post-punk, and EBM. We both also really enjoy learning languages. Richard speaks conversational German, Icelandic, and sometimes Norwegian, and Lindsey speaks Japanese very well, and is learning German.

We both love animals, and are both completely vegan. That means we don't consume or wear anything that comes from an animal. We do this primarily because we don't believe that animals can give consent to us, and that we don't have the right to take from them.

We also really enjoy reading, especially sci-fi and fantasy, and watching films and tv-series.

  • animals
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • vegan
  • crafts
  • movies
  • reading
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Industrial, EBM, neofolk, post punk, music in another language. Bands: Welle: Erdball, Rome, Patenbrigade: Wolff, Birmingham 6, Garmarna, Valravn, Mammút, Nóra, Gåte, Tenhi, Einstürzende Neubauten

Movies: Blade Runner, The Road Warrior, Goodbye Lenin, Princess Mononoke, Dark City, Elling, Hrafninn Flýgur, The Seventh Seal

Books: Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit (Richard er að lesa hana á íslensku), Dune, Cryptonomicon, Ubik, Foundation Trilogy, Berlin Diary.

Music: Post-punk, coldwave, gothic, industrial, EBM, 80s. Bands: Automelodi, Depeche Mode, Xeno & Oaklander, New Order, David Bowie, Moev, Skinny Puppy, Belgrado

Movies: Labyrinth, The Wedding Singer, Over the Garden Wall, The Room, My Neighbour Totoro, My Sassy Girl

Books: The Handmaid's Tale, Microserfs, 1984, Night on the Galactic Railroad, Night by Elie Wiesel, Bluets by Maggie Nelson, His Dark Materials series, A Wrinkle in Time, Flowers for Algernon

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Richard learned enough Icelandic to be able to watch Ófærð (Trapped) without subtitles.

Lindsey was hiking when she got stuck overnight on the island of Miyajima while a strong typhoon battered the island. It was simultaneously exhilarating and frightening.

One amazing thing that we've both done together was to stay for several nights at Castle Colmberg in northern Bavaria. It was beautiful and serene, and simply amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

We can teach you some basic photography, computer programming/web development, or vegan cooking & baking skills.

We're both always interested in learning other languages. Richard is interested in improving his photography, while Lindsey would love to learn about animal rehabilitation and more skills to do with paper crafts (like collaging, paper quilling, etc.), but is open to learning about most anything.

In general we can share our food and company, and we love to cook with our hosts and guests. If we're hosting you, we'll show you around to our favourite locations, cook dinner together, go hiking, or play games together, if you're interested.

What I Can Share with Hosts

As guests, we'll share our good company, and provide interesting conversation, baking and cooking. We can also teach some Japanese, basic German and Icelandic. Lindsey tends to know of most live shows and events happening in Vancouver when it comes to the punk/post-punk/dark electronic and goth scenes, and Richard can maybe teach you how to take better photographs. We both might be able to help if you're having trouble with your computer or phone.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Japan, Romania

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups