Ryan Gibbons's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Irish; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • PhD candidate
  • Sociology and Social Policy
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am PhD (Sociology) candidate, originally from Galway on the west coast, but now living in Dublin.
I am into culture and music (many types, but I invariably find myself heading to classical concerts more often than not).

Interests include history, culture, sport and a whole wide array of different things! I also volunteer for a fantastic intercultural learning organisation (EIL Ireland) in my spare time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I enjoy travelling, but both finances and time mean I haven't done nearly as much as I would like to do! Part of the amazing element of travel is meeting new people and experiencing different cultures, and through couchsurfing hopefully I can experience that even when I'm in Ireland!

Interests

  • reading
  • music
  • rugby
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite Book: War and Peace - Tolstoy
Favourite Composer - Tchaikovsky (violin concerto in D major)
Favourite Band - Probably the Beatles, but I also listen to anything indie rock or alternative, and lately have been listening to anything from the likes of Tame Impala and Odesza as well.
Favourite Movie - Either Twelve Angry Men or The Graduate. Also, anything from Hitchcock. Usually, the older the film, the more I like it.

Teach, Learn, Share

For couchsurfers, depending on the time I have available, I can either give tips as to what to see in Dublin, or give you a private tour of Dublin's Fair City myself. Sights I can bring you to include the Long Library in Trinity College, the National Gallery, National History Museum, Stephen's Green and Merrion Square, all of which are within ten minutes walk of where I live.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach some Irish (Gaeilge) words, some Irish music on the Tin Whistle (Feadóg), and I can share my thoughts on Irish history and culture :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Germany, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile. It’s free!