Ryan Pears's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Student / Every little job I can find
  • Bachelor's
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have all the time in the world for real people, and no time for paper people (bureaucrats).

I do not eat meat, not that I consider this to make up my identity in any way, but through my CS experience I've found that this information is necessary to clarify. There's not much else to write here that isn't covered below.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

“Better to sleep in an uncomfortable bed free, than sleep in a comfortable bed unfree.” - Jack Kerouac
Fortunately I can provide you with a comfortable AND free bed under my current living situation ;)

To host...

I like to host because it allows for the energy of the traveller to enter into my life, it brings new surprises and vitality to my daily life and routine which can be most welcome. Of course, it's also pleasant to be able to help others out, to offer a warm bed, a meal, a shower and some respite after the eventful and tiring experiences of travel. Travel is expensive, but thoroughly rewarding, a couple of days without having to spend much can extend ones travels. I may not always be able to entertain guests and am happy just to share my couch, some blankets and radiator with those passing through or exploring the city. I'm happy to hang out and entertain you if I can, but also just to help out with a place to crash if need be.

To surf...

I like to surf because this way we can form stronger and more real human connections with the people native or familiar to the lands I am exploring. I am more likely to gain a fuller understanding and picture of the country, town and people than I would by staying with international travellers in a hostel or alone in an apartment. Furthermore, you can see the city through the eyes of an individual you may never have had circumstance or the will to meet in other situations.

Interests

  • cooking
  • reading
  • live music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • travel
  • nature
  • football
  • communication
  • community

Music, Movies, and Books

Folk, rock n roll, old pop, acoustic, bluegrass, blues, classical, jazz. If I party, psytrance...
Bob Dylan, Pink Floyd, The Beatles, Hozier, Van Morrison, Miles Davis, Tash Sultana, Alt-J, Little Richard, bla bla bla

I enjoy movies because they can put you back in a time and place of the past or an imagined place in the future and attempt to address contextual issues of these times or our current times. E.g. Lord of the Rings, Shawshank Redemption, BoJack Horseman, Spirited Away, Paterson, The One That Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, The Joker etc...

I read a lot, mainly classic literature. My current favourite authors are Jack Kerouac and Aldous Huxley. But I enjoy a large variety of literatures.
I'm currently eating up all of the media from New Zealand that I can get my hands on!!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I invite you to find out over a cold beer ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I suppose we discover this once we look back at the time we shared together
Use your paperwork to make a campfire for you and your friends.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I will happily share my stories, experiences, energy and consumables I may be carrying with me. I can also prepare a meal, or maybe pass on something I've acquired on my travels to you. But hopefully I can just bring something new, different and positive into your life for a day or two or three :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Palestine, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, United Arab Emirates, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Jordan, Netherlands, Romania

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile.