Ryan & Phoebe's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • No languages listed
  • 28, Other
  • Member since 2013
  • No occupation listed
  • Ryan has a B.A. in Psychology, Phoebe a BSc in Biodiversi...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

NB: We've recently merged CS profiles! To see lots of references from Phoebe's former couchsurfing life with her sister, please go here: https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/978290/profile

We're a couple of dorks from South Australia. Ryan has a background in mental health and an obsession with good food & beer. Phoebe is a bicycle mechanic & educator and loves getting nerdy about biology.

We both love bikes, and they're one of our favourite ways to travel. Our current mission is to explore New Zealand on two wheels (each!), learning as we go on organic farms, hiking trails & wherever else we find ourselves.

We love meeting new people, and think there's something to learn from everyone.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Phoebe has couchsurfed extensively through Canada & the USA (see my references from the past few years here: https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/978290/references). We both had our first hosting experiences at our big sharehouse last year, and loved meeting travellers and giving back to the community.

Couchsurfing is the best way to travel, because it's the only way to instantly have friends and feel at home! We love the interesting people we meet and the reciprocal welcome between hosts and surfers. We love people who are curious about the world and what makes it go round, and anyone that can teach us something new!

Interests

Bikes, beers, the outdoors, gardening, cooking and baking, science, yoga, reading & writing, building things, learning things, dancing like mad & swimming in the ocean. And travel, of course!

  • wildlife
  • writing
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • baking
  • yoga
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cars
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • biology
  • teaching
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Could be here all day typing things out, here are some favourites, but I'll give anything a read/watch/listen
Music: Classics (Beatles, Zepplin, Sabbath) Indie (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Strokes, Stars) Electronic (Justice, Boyz Noize, Diplo) Rap (Kanye, Jay-Z, Kid Cudi) and more...
TV: Arrested Development, Scrubs, Curb, Portlandia, SNL, Archer, Simpsons, Regular Show, Adventure Time
Books: Stick to non fiction a lot of the time, reading about cars, economics, business, but I love One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, 1984, Steppenwolf and lots of other literature.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Rode our bikes 550kms around Kangaroo Island, exploring, making friends with the wildlife and eating all the food.

Teach, Learn, Share

Ryan: I've been an amatuer mechanic/car dealer/bike fixer, having owned and sold over 15 cars (and dozens of bikes), and can teach you anything you want to know about cars and indeed, anything else with wheels. I love to learn more about amazing beer, wine, coffee and food.

Phoebe: Also a bicycle mechanic and keen to share skills, can tell you some wacky things about nature & evolution, know some pretty cheesy jokes. I love learning new skills, especially practical things & building/ fixing. I love learning new cheesy jokes!

What I Can Share with Hosts

We love to give back to the folks who so generously let us into their lives. We'll definitely be keen to cook you a delicious meal (we love cooking spicy food & fresh vegies but will try almost anything, so let us know your favourite!).

We also enjoy getting to know our hosts and having some chats -- that said, we're very good at being independent if you're busy or need your space. Most of all, we're respectful, open to new experiences, and will always do the dishes :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Cuba, French Guiana, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile. It’s free!