Ryan Pierce's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 73 References 37 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Environmental Engineer
  • BS Clemson University (Biology), MS Virginia Tech (Enviro...
  • From Columbia, SC, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Live well.


I recently moved to Austin, TX from Dallas and am renting a place temporarily so am not able to host.

I'm a pretty active guy and really enjoy traveling and being outside. Pretty much anything outdoors or sports-related will grab my attention, but I especially like to mountain bike, hike and backpack, and play ultimate frisbee and tennis. I always enjoy meeting new folks, catching a concert, drinking a cold beer, and trying new restaurants.


Working on that.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Been a member for over 10 years and have had a good bit of experience both hosting and surfing.

Surfed with:
Brecht in Bruges, Belgium (7/2013) 2 nights
Hugh in Seattle, WA (1/2013) 2 nights
Shawn in Seattle, WA (5/2012) 1 night
Neil in San Antonio, TX (4/2012) 1 night
Dave in Houston, TX (9/2011) 2 nights
Darryl in Little Rock, AR (9/2011) 1 night
Johanne in Barcelona, Spain (7/2011) 2 nights
Andres in Cordoba, Spain (7/2011) 1 night
Anna in Sevilla, Spain (7/2011) 2 nights
Jana and her family in San Antonio, TX (9/2010) 1 night
Raphael in Montreal, Canada (5/2010) 3 nights
Sonia in Frankfurt, Germany (7/2009) 1 night
Onur in Istanbul, Turkey (7/2009) 5 nights
Ozgur in Antalya, Turkey (7/2009) 1 night
Manuela in Munich, Germany (7/2009) 3 nights
Caspar in Berlin, Germany (7/2009) 2 nights

Chris from Cincinnati (10/2013) 1 night
Mickael from Dresden, Germany (10/2013) 2 nights
Sarah from Chicago, IL (9/2012) 1 night
Brooks from Amherst, MA (4/2012) 3 nights
Chad from Portland, OR (3/2012) 1 night
Matt from Santa Fe, NM (10/2011) 1 night
Ashley and Kathy from Ann Arbor, MI (8/2011) 1 night
Philip from Bern, Switzerland (8/2011) 2 nights
Jake from New Orleans, LA (6/2011) 1 night
Nadya and Alex from Minsk, Belarus (6/2011) 1 night
Kevin from St Louis, MO (6/2011) 3 nights
Megan and Mark from Austin, TX (3/2011) 2 nights
Kyle and Sarajane from Wilmington, NC (3/2011) 1 night
Ken from Sydney, Australia (10/10) 1 night
Hunter from Indianapolis, IN (10/10) 1 night
Rickard and Andreas from Gotthenburg, Sweden (10/10) 2 nights
Nicholas from Montreal, Canada (8/2010) 1 night
Maria from Houston, TX (8/2010) 1 night
Tomas from Prague, Czech Republic (7/2010) 2 nights
Cheryl and her sister from New Brunswick, NJ (7/2010) 3 nights
Erin and Leanne from CA and NJ (5/2010) 1 night
Lauren and Meredith from Charleston, SC (5/2010) 1 night
Jason from Louisville, KY (4/2010) 2 nights
Mina from Boston, MA (1/2010) 3 nights


Kind of already touched on this but to reiterate:
being outside, ultimate frisbee, sports, hiking, traveling, good music and movies, reading, faith, and meeting new people.

  • animals
  • birds
  • concerts
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • hunting
  • surfing
  • sports
  • tennis

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Rushmore, Kill Bill, Everything is Illuminated, Adaptation, Donnie Darko, Lord of the Rings, Harold and Maude, No Country for Old Men, Empire Records

Music: Built to Spill, Radiohead, Social Distortion, Slowdive, Mumford and Sons, Stone Roses, Pixies, Yo la Tengo, Soundgarden, Old 97s, U2, The Jayhawks, Paul Simon, REM, Son Volt, Patty Griffin

Books: Travelogues, historical nonfiction, adventure writing, and most things by Wendell Berry, CS Lewis, John Steinbeck, Bill Bryson, Rory Stewart; recent favorites include What is the What, Short History of Nearly Everything, The Places in Between

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked up Slieve League in Ireland in fog so dense you could barely see your feet. Once we got to the top, as if on cue, the fog blew out to sea and I found myself staring 2000 feet down to the water. That was an amazing day.

Also exploring Cappadocia, Turkey is way up there.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to identify stuff outside: birds, bugs, plants, animals. Or throw a frisbee. I'm sure I've got some additional talents but I can't think of them now.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    13 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups