Peter Jamieson

Wanganui, Manawatu, New Zealand

Peter Jamieson

Wanganui, Manawatu, New Zealand

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Retired Primary School Teacher and English Language Consu...
  • Qualifications from University. This does not make me an ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Is to provide a place to stay for awesome folk; to learn about their cultures, families, interests and their travel adventures


See what others have written about me. As my former pupils would say - 'he may be conventional but please don't put him in a box.'


"Do unto others as you would have them do unto you."
It's love ( in its broadest definition) that makes the world go round.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have many international friends. I sometimes pick up hitch hikers. I have shared my house with a guy from Taiwan for 2 years and a guy from Mongolia for 2 months. Have had others for shorter times. Read my profile to see wht I have to offer.
I am gay friendly, not gay.


I have been privileged to host a great variety of folks; some of them have become my friends. In 2013 I surfed in the South of France, Chile and Brazil - all of them fantastic but very different experiences.This year 2014 I had equally great times as I surfed in Singapore, Malaysia, Vietnam and Taiwan. This year - (2015) I had, once again, outstanding kind hosts in West Sumatra, Indonesia.


Learning to play the guitar, recorder and the ukulele.
Gardening and helping others in their garden's.
Cooking - especially trying out new recipes
Handcrafts - I knit and make basic quilts,bags and wall hangings.
Reading - I buy the newspaper everyday and I always have a book that I am reading. My tastes are eclectic.
Going to the movies or watching dvd's
Walking and jogging
Holding low key special meals to celebrate birthdays, achievements or for people I haven't seen for awhile.
Visiting my friends and family for a coffee/chat or to stay.
Having my family and friends for a meal or to stay.
Travel- overseas - now that I am retired I don't have the same financial resources.
Helping people - I teach English as a Second Language and a Mentor to people who want a listening ear, doing their gardens; my friends call me to talk about their problems ( I don't solve them for them, just make suggestions). All this unpaid.
I quite regularly attend a local church.
Genealogy. I am the main recipient for folk seeking this information. I have 20k on my family tree - this includes both sides of the family.

Music, Movies, and Books

Very ecclectic tastes.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spent 3 weeks living in a hut in Vanuatu with no running water or electricity and shared this hut with my friend and several rats.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like people to share their experiencs, cook a typical meal from their country, song/dances from their countries and I am prepared to do the same.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can listen to your stories and share mine.
I may be able to teach you the ukulele.
We/I can cook meals together.
If time permits we can visit some of the local attractions.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Chile, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Malaysia, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Tonga, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vanuatu, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups