Photos de Sean Kolk

Profil partiellement vérifié

  • Membre vérifié par paiement
  • Numéro de téléphone non vérifié
  • Pièce d'identité non vérifiée
  • Adresse non vérifiée

Souhaite faire des rencontres

  • Dernière connexion il y a 4 days

Rejoignez Couchsurfing pour consulter l'intégralité du profil de Sean. L'inscription est gratuite !

Présentation

  • 112 Références 36 Confirmé et positif
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish, Swahili
  • 30, Male
  • Membre depuis 2008
  • I Make Tools.
  • Georgia Tech, Friends, Enemies, screw ups, successes
  • De Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Profil renseigné à 100 %

À propos de moi

CURRENT MISSION

Something about making tools for people to have equal footing...

ABOUT ME

-7/14
7 Months with snow or ice every month.

-6/14
Running every morning. doing at least a 1/2 marathon once a week.

-1/14
Out of sf almost every weekend. (as planned)

-9/13 I started "Make Daily" where I made 'something' everyday for 3 months. Laser cutting, 3d printing, milling, electronics, water jet, welding, robotics, woodwork. I'm now deciding how to focus my new skill sets on, a more meaningful project.

Decided to lear about manufacturing and data, it's fuzzy.
-1/13

Co-founded Gear Lending, and Moving to San Francisco to find people, funding, and programmers to help make adventure travel easier to do for the equipment burdened traveller - 2/2012

Drove Bessy (the school bus) from Atlanta to Salt Lake City, then to Bozeman, and to Chicago then back to Atlanta. On the Bus for 39 days, met tons of really awesome people, and loved every minuet of it. - 6/20/11

Accepted to start up chile, a business accelorator in Santiago Chile - 4/2/11

Just bought a bus, remodeling it and will be taking it across the country, this is gonna be amazing (oh and making a doc/moc/umentry about it) - 3/15/11

I'm trying to Hike every state highpoint and crawl to every deepest cave in all 50 states: I want to see more of my county- 6/7/09

*I just got back from Africa and am getting back into "life", or maybe just enjoying it at a slower place than everyone else who rushes through :) -11/4/08

I'm an overly active kid, who runs, climbs, bikes, swims, and loves probably everything in-between. I've taken up Hashing recently, and Water polo, I love snow sports, and caving, and trees- trees are good- oh, and I now have co founded 2 companies, wwweird

PHILOSOPHY

Enjoy the Path

Pourquoi je suis sur Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host when I can, but really I enjoy connecting people through events (pot lucks seem to be my monthly trend) and putting together events to get people hiking, or sea kayaking, maybe caving! Always looking for active and random stuff :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Just moved into a house after 2 years of living in closets and couches rent free. Made me reflect on what it means to own a space, and how you can change and modify your surroundings. Can't wait to host again.
-6/14

Turning my Santiago apartment into a crazy surfing spot was amazing, we had... over 20 people over 6 months and made so many life friends. Love you stgo!
-2/2012

Couch Crash in Minnesota was amazing, Bus trip was crazy, moving to Chile to meet all kinds of new people -6/24/11

I am mainly active in Atlanta right now, occasionally hosting, but usually being more active in events (cooking!) 6/12/09

So far I´ve stayed with several people on my trip down through Eastern Africa to South Africa- then again In Spain, England, New York, and meet up almost every week with fellow CS'ers in Atlanta- Been to parties in Alabama, and have gone Contra dancing with CSers- the world is a fun place 10/8/08

Centres d'intérêt

Climbing, Biking, Running, Hiking, Caving, Skiing, Bon Fires, hot tubs! long nights talking about the state of the world, Coffee, Cooking, blue cheese<< Really really love blue cheese

  • design
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • coffee
  • marathon
  • running
  • partying
  • electronics
  • shopping
  • reading
  • traveling
  • woodworking
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • spelunking
  • mountaineering
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • water polo
  • business
  • adventure travel
  • budget travel

Enseignez, apprenez, partagez

Teach
I teach rock climbing (sport and trad) along with caving (horizontal and vertical), and find that I learn so much from it that I can´t stop. If you need to know a mountaineering knot, a climbing term, or are confused why people like heights and small spaces - feel free to ask me

I also work in fabrication and design, we have a wood shop at the house, and I work on metal and CNC at work. If you want to know something...

Since I´m somewhat of a budget traveller, I took up cooking in Tanzania (even though it´s dirt cheap there) and met a few cooks in hostels in South Africa, which inspired me to make my own food - a trend which hasn´t stopped. If you know a special dish, or have a favourite spice I would like to learn from you.

Learn
I've learned more about people by meeting them than I ever have reading about them! I try to meet up with new people every week for coffee or randomness which keeps me learning and on my toes.

Share
I have way too much gear, if you need a kayak, or a sleeping bag, or are in a situation where you need to supply a small army with down jackets. Contact me oh, and I'm starting a company with this idea...

Pays que j'ai visités

Argentina, Bolivia, Burundi, Canada, Chile, France, Haiti, Italy, Lesotho, Malawi, Mexico, Mozambique, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, United Kingdom

Pays dans lesquels j'ai vécu

Chile, Kenya, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    25 Recommanders
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Badge de pionnier

Rejoignez Couchsurfing pour consulter l'intégralité du profil de Sean. L'inscription est gratuite !

Mes groupes