Sarah Van der Aa

Forest, Bruxelles, Belgium

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Dutch teacher in adult education Brussels
  • Master Western literature, Theatre maker
  • From Kasterlee, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Getting to know myself through others


I'm a dreamy type of person. Sometimes I talk a lot, and sometimes I don't. I like walking in forests, and being wih people I like. I like painting and drawing. And dancing and thinking. I need to be by myself sometimes, but it has to be balanced by the presence of others.
Usually I am quite straightforward, and even frank, even though I sometimes seem shy at first sight.
Oh yeah, and I have a great love for words, especially when they're spoken, but when they can't express what is inside of me, which they often can not, I hate them. It's a weird relationship.
I currently work as a Dutch teacher for adults in Brussels. It is a nice experience because I have people from all over the world in my class, so I don't need to travel to meet other cultures.


Just do it

I realised that, if you have an idea or if you're in the mood to do something, you just have to do it :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I knew that couchsurfing existed before, but during the summer of 2010 we went hitchhiking through eastern europe and it was only then that I saw how nice it actually was. I afterwards became a member of this website, because I moved to Paris for half a year and I wanted to get to know new people.
I surfed a couch in Rennes during that period, and I met a few cool people because of CS.
For the moment I live in Brussels, and I am looking forward to meeting nice people here too.


I like listening to music, mostly reggae and when I'm in a quiet mood also Jazz and classical music, piano or violin.
I am interested in psychology, literature, nature, art.

Music, Movies, and Books

norah jones / gregory isaacs (RIP)/ alborosie / freddie mc gregor / tanya stephens / Bitty Mcclean / Israel Vibration / Dean fraser /

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done


Teach, Learn, Share

I'd like to learn to play the piano.

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Ethiopia, France, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups