Clement Chan's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Clement’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Malay; learning Chinese, French, Japanese, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Editor
  • Economics & Finance degree
  • From Subang Jaya, Malaysia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Traverse the wide, wide world as long as time and money permit.

ABOUT ME

The universe is too large to be explored, so I'm settling on the world. People often shy away from notorious places like North Korea and Iraq, but strangely, these are the places that draw me to them. Going to these places is currently part of my bucket list.

I'm a little quiet sometimes (nearly a typical Aquarian..), a non-smoker, and I drink socially (beer and wine are a personal favourite, followed by vodka cocktails). My absolute passions in life are travelling, photography, and writing - and being able to combine all three when I'm backpacking keeps me satiated and happy. :)

PHILOSOPHY

If it doesn't kill me, I'm all up for it! Experiencing new things is what I'm all about, where this quote sums it best:

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream." -- Mark Twain.

Notable exceptions: Activities that have to do with great heights.

Exceptions of notable exceptions: Bungee-jumping, tandem skydiving, and the like.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As vague as it sounds, I like to help people if it's within my ability to do so. So far I've helped storing a CSer's boxes and other things in my room in Melbourne.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

01 - Surfed with Evgeny in Chiang Mai
02 - Surfed with Songwoot in Bangkok

Participated in a number of events in Melbourne with some CSers, such as watching a film noir opera with Tim and Michael, partying at Martin's, pub-crawling with Cam, ballroom dancing at Enrique's, fortnightly CS Zones.. the list goes on.

Interests

Writing
Music
Movies
Reading
Languages
Photography
Videogames
Playing the guitar (just started learning it!)
Spontaneously go on a trip

  • writing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • ballroom dancing
  • wine
  • beer
  • cocktails
  • partying
  • drinking
  • pub crawls
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • opera
  • backpacking
  • hunting
  • sailing
  • bungee jumping
  • skydiving
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - The Corrs, Utada Hikaru, almost any other pop/rock/rnb songs. I also enjoy some indie music and the occasional jazz.

Movies - Muallaf, American History X, Milk, District 9, Before Sunset/Before Sunrise, Donnie Darko, Talentime, In Bruges, Memento, Fight Club, WALL-E, Cloverfield, Vantage Point, Transformers, Mukhsin, The Lake House, Collateral, A Home at the End of the World, My Brother, Narnia, Kingdom of Heaven, Constantine, Taegukgi, The Day After Tomorrow, The Last Samurai, Shrek, etc

Books - Haruki Murakami's novels, particularly Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World

TV series - Lost, Heroes, Prison Break, How I Met Your Mother

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Only yesterday at the time of writing (22nd June 07) - sitting on a 12 hour bus to Hanoi from Hué, and there were hundreds of stars decorating the dark sky. The shiny half-moon that hangs quite low completes the experience - nothing I've ever seen for almost a decade, especially when you live in a city blinded with light pollution.

And in a very isolated village in Laos, watching shooting stars (something I've never done since I've been living in cities all my life) amidst millions of stars in the night sky was just deathly mesmerising, magical, and awfully romantic (had I have a partner at that time..).

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm good with computers in general (a little of web developing), and I'd like to think I'm good in English and writing. I definitely look forward to learning Mandarin, Japanese and French.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, France, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Malaysia

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Clement’s full profile. It’s free!