Philip Rodriguez's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Philip’s full profile.

Overview

  • 39 references 31 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese, Spanish
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • High School Teacher
  • University Graduate
  • From San Diego, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Ready to take a proper trip after a long hiatus

ABOUT ME

If I had to describe myself with two words, I'd say easy-going and knowledgeable.

I was born and raised in Southern California. Currently, I teach in a community outside of San Francisco, where far too many of my students like to play on their phones all day. Poor me, haha. In the past I also taught abroad and volunteered in various countries.

When I travel, I make a legit effort to learn about a place through the local people. I see it as an opportunity for intercultural exchange and sharing. It's also about listening as much as it is talking.

If I'm not on the road and have free time, I enjoy hiking/biking in the woods, relaxing at the beach, frequenting Karaoke bars, hitting up local taco trucks, and going on day trips to take photos.

PHILOSOPHY
Be positive. Be flexible. Be accepting of others and their perspectives.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

The first time I used CS, I stayed with a host in Ulan Bator. Aside from having a great stay, I was sold right away on CS because I like to go out, try new things, get to know others, and end up in random adventures. I've since done couchsurfing several other times. I was also active (pre-COVID days) with the group in my city doing beach volleyball, bbqs, bar meetups and bonfires. I feel fortunate to be a part of this global community and always come away with positive experiences.

Interests

Reading, Writing, Traveling, Ocean Stuff, Video Games, Photography, Hiking, Camping, Karaoke, Cooking, Mountain Biking, Eating Mexican food, Drinking, Eating more Mexican food

  • culture
  • writing
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • mexican food
  • movies
  • video games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • magic
  • karaoke
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Youtube Channels: Oversimplified, Hoof GP, The Infographics Show, Corridor Crew, MTGA streamers, Kings and Generals. For better or worse, I watch a ton of youtube

Books: ASOIAF, Clavell's Asian Saga, Vonnegut, Ken Follett. I'm into Fantasy and Historical Fiction. The thicker the novel, the more tempted I am to read it.

TV shows: Recently watched and enjoyed Severance, Better Call Saul, Last Kingdom, Arcane, Cobra Kai. I can't complain. We live in an awesome age of streaming content

Movies: Noir films, 80s-90s over the top action, indie flicks, period pieces, MCU films. I prefer watching movies as nature intended--in my car at the drive in theater while eating a carne asada burrito and washing it down with a cup of horchata. Did I mention I like Mexican food?

Music: Reggae. Jazz. Country. Funk. Alternative. And the Red Hot Chili Peppers--I can sing just about all their hits (badly!) My go to karaoke song used to be Under the Bridge. Now it's Tennessee Whiskey by Chris Stapleton.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've done a lot of volunteering. Though one time while teaching in a town in Kyrgyzstan, I suddenly had to flee because I was suspected by local police of being a spy. Not funny at the time, but I can laugh about it now

Teach, Learn, Share

I love swapping stories and learning from others. There are so many things to discover in life that the older I get, the less I feel I know.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer travel tips. I enjoy cooking and have done so for many CS hosts in the past. I'm a good conversationalist and solid drinking buddy. I've used my camera to take photos and then print them for others.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Georgia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Japan, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Philip’s full profile.