Sarah-Louisa Pavel

Frankfurt am Main, Hessen, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah-Louisa’s full profile. It’s free!


  • No occupation listed
  • Fine Arts and English
  • From Rinteln, Lower Saxony, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am absolutely easy-going and uncomplicated, plus a very kind, gentle person, I would say.
I am funny and out-going but I also enjoy serious talking and a minute for myself.

I love Italy: the people and their lifestyle. Lived in Rome and also in Bolzano for a short while. The great food, the coffee and bar culture, the out- and easy-going way of living. It was very hard for me to settle in Germany again, because I have missed sunshine, strangers talking to you, chaos, noise, fresh food, aperitivi and this charming southern hospitality so much. I like to be in good company with friends and enjoy good food and drinks. Both together is just what makes life perfect in my opinion. This is a very Italian way of thinking and I will keep that in my heart and mind, wherever I go.

All my love is with Canada where I have been living for a year after I graduated from high school. It is so huge, white, cold, friendly and beautiful. I worked as a dog-handler in Canada and trained sled dogs for a family-run dog kennel. An unexpected, but mind-blowing job and a time I will never forget. I found the best host family. A family you can't even dream of, that's how nice they were and still are. So glad, we are still in touch.

Lived in Corfu, Greece for a few month working at a hotel, too.


Truth is reasonable for mankind. (Die Wahrheit ist dem Menschen zumutbar.) (Ingeborg Bergman)

The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.

Don't travel with anyone you don't love. (Ernest Hemingway)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To be honest, I have used Couchsurfing mainly for finding apartments and meeting people to hang out with in the past. I am not the typical couchsurfer, that stays one or two nights. But couchsurfing was great in the past when I lived in Greece, Rome and Bolzano to meet with others and to look for long-term-rental homes.

I had some couch surfers at my place though and that was always very nice.

I have planned to use couch surfing more often in the near future. I am really looking forward to doing a trip to Stockholm, Iceland and Istanbul. Maybe I use Couchsurfing there...let's see.


Art, Art, Art...Photography, horses, dogs (especially Ramone and Kurt), horseback riding, snowboarding, skiing, mushing and dog sport, running, music, psychology, Canada, cooking&food, coffee, fashion (I love to shop for cloth at second hand stores, car boot sales and flea markets), interior design&architecture, writing, inspiring cities, languages (I am in love with Italian and Dutch actually), people with humor&brain and heart...

You may like to check out some of my art on

Music, Movies, and Books


Country and folk, when I am relaxing, good electronical beats when I am going out, 90s to just fool around (best with my sister and girlfriends, really, it's a girl thing, isn't?), Hip Hop with intelligent lyrics, especially in German. Maybe because I understand it best ;) No, seriously, there is excellent German hip hop.

I am personally into literature, but I know for many that's boring, so I won't elaborate on it too much here. Just a little bit... ;)...this is my favorite German book selection:
Der Vorleser by Bernhard Schlink
Frühlings Erwachen by Frank Wedekind
Das Versprechen by Friedrich Dürrenmatt
Der Prozess by Kafka

There is many more, but I shut up at this point.

Am obsessed with indigenous cultures and vikings. Thanks to my study I have become crazy about native american literature and inuit legends, so check out
"The absolutely true diary of a part-time Indian" and "Flight" by Sherman Alexie as well as Zacharias Kunut's magical movie "Atanarjuat"


I love Michael Haneke (Das weiße Band, Caché), Stieg Larsson, Henning Mankell and Woody Allen (Match point, Midnight in Paris, Zelig), Fatih Akin (Gegen die Wand), Tom Tykwer (Lola rennt, Drei) and Lars von Trier (The boss of it all). Festen, Good-bye, Lenin (is one brillant, funny German movie about our "wall-history"). The Art of negative thinking (has fine black Norwegian humor), My name is Joe (tragic scottish black humor comedy), Der Laden (German family story in three parts, my all time favorite movie of all!!!), Was nützt die Liebe in Gedanken, Alle Anderen ( oh ja, there is a bunch of good German movies), the Pledge and some others like American Beauty, The name of the rose, Juno, Harold and Mauld, Dances with Wolves, Brokeback Mountain, Saving Private Ryan, Braveheart, the Astronaut's Wife, the Missing, the Red Violin, Wind Talkers, Carnage, Inglorious Bastards,...

I like watching series. I really liked Breaking Bad, Lillyhammer, Borgen, Vikings, Forbrydelsen (The Killing), House of Cards, Peaky Blinders, McLeods' daughters and Boston Legal. More to check out hopefully!!!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It must have been the Buffalo herd running loose next to my car in British Columbia which was mind-blowing and scary at the same time. I will never forget the size of their heads!

I participated in the Sleddog World Championships 2005 in Canada for the Canadian Team (but I am German!). Canada was second, Germany was first. It literally tore my heart in two and I had to buy my host dad Mark a burger menu.

Met first nation people in the North of British Columbia and was introduced to their traditional living and religious ceremonies. It was very touching to listen to them, because these people have suffered a lot by European conquest until today.

Hitchhiking in Sweden, which I promised my parents never to do, ever, but I had to once. I missed the last bus in the swedish prarie and this very nice history student from Norway picked me up with his truck. He was on his way to get groceries, which are apparently cheaper in Sweden than in Norway. He had this amazing huge elk dog in the back of his truck and while he taught me the whole Norwegian history, the dog would drool on my left shoulder four hours. I can't thank Lars enough for having been so helpful, interesting and nice to a lost girl in Värmland one summer in 2010.

Went for a ride one day in the jungle of the Black Foot recreational area outside of Edmonton with a couple friends and some of our dogs, when all of the sudden a moose, the size of an elephant, jumped out of the woods and because there was no way to get out of our way, it tried jumping the 3meter-fence of the area. Horses went crazy, dogs, too. The fence was totally knocked down. Luckily nothing worse happened, but I was left speechless on my hyperventilating horse.

Living in Rome directly at Piazza Bologna with the most amazing people and their dog Ramone. Keziah, Luciano, Pepe and Ramone, I miss this time so much!

Eating strawberry tiramisu at Pompi in Rome. It is THE Tiramisu bar in Italy. A religion, you have to check it out. I used to go there after many nights out. It is the Italian McDonalds ;)

Working as a horse riding guide for tourists in Sweden. You are tired, cold and soaking wet most of the time, sitting on a horse, that is also cold, soaking wet and even more tired than you. At the end of the day you look for a good spot, put up a fence for all the horses, check on them, feed them, carry 10 buckets of water to them, make a fire, cook diner for everyone and then sleep in a tent praying that by tomorrow your pants will be a little less wet. After doing this for a couple weeks, I changed my mind about how romantic it must be to become a cowgirl! It still was awesome and it did no harm to my love for horses.

Met Björk in 2012 during the EMAs' in Frankfurt at Cocoon Club's aftershow party. I was the sober girl behind the bar, she was the drunk girl at the bar and we had a very funny talk for quite a while. At the end she said "I really like you" and I don't know if that is a compliment or if I should actually be worried about it, because, seriously, she is a crazy girl.

Golfing in the Rocky Mountains. Man, this golf court was in the middle of the mountains; so damn beautiful.

A Xatzigiannis-concert on Corfu at 40 degrees at the beach. I didn't like this guy. I didn't like his pop music, but my collegues went crazy and everyone else there, too. Never felt such a vibe! Now I am a fan of him.

Traveling on your own, working, living abroad, either with roommates or in a host family or with total foreigners, especially when you are young, can be very challenging. Anyhow, I have always met the most wonderful and helpful people out there and always managed to adapt to their style of living, which has shaped me. Last but not least, many of them have become friends. So happy about that!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am very open-minded, interested in a lot of things and a pretty good listener, so I am excited to hear your stories and learn something - whatever- from you.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Friendship, food and fine Arts, so let's eat, drink and be creative?

I am very much looking forward to meeting interesting people to have wonderful new experiences and fun nights out with!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Réunion, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, Greece, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah-Louisa’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups