Bill Hood's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bill’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Cartographer for ecological consultant
  • BS Engineering
  • From born in Figueras, Spain, grew up in US - south
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To surround myself with those seeking the truth and to flee from those who have found it.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 53 year old married father of two. Interests include reading, hiking, gardening, most anything outdoors, science, evolution, psychology, green living, etc.

PHILOSOPHY

Live and let live, tread lightly on the earth, help make the world a better place with small acts of kindness...one person at a time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Unfortunately I think and talk about it more than actually participating. I've couch surfed one time so far and it was a great experience so I'd like to add to that with a current trip I'm planning. I think it's a great concept, truly part of the new sharing economy that allows for meeting fun and interesting people.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Only one experience so far with a great family in Pittsburgh. I hope to add to my experience soon.

Interests

I am a scientist wannabe. I love reading and discussing all sorts of scientific topics. Being outdoors is in my DNA... Hiking, walking, working, gardening and just observing what nature has to offer.

My work has taken me to some interesting places. I've spent a lot of time in swamps, on mountaintops, run into bears, snakes and alligators, gun toting land owners. I've been chased by bulls and ran (like a girl) from a herd of buffalo. I've helicoptered over the everglades and been stranded briefly in the area after sinking an air boat in alligator infested water.

  • running
  • walking
  • gardening
  • boating
  • reading
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • law
  • psychology
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Everything by Charles Dickens, The Blind Watchmaker, Song of the Dodo, The Naked Ape, The Third Chimpanzee.
Movies: Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Bladerunner, family man, good documentaries, nature shows, the IT crowd.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

For my mid-life crisis I drove 8500 miles around the US and Canada and feasted my eyes on the great diversity of North America... travelled the west coast from Vancouver to San Fran then back across the desert SW...staying in hostels whenever possible meeting locals and fellow travellers. Can't wait to do it again.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am open to learning anything...anything legal. I am well read and open minded...willing to share anything I know (not sure how much of it is useful). Just ask me.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A strong back and willing attitude. I'm handy in the kitchen or the garden and work around the house in general. I'll be driving so you can send me on an errand... Just ask.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Bill’s full profile. It’s free!