Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sam’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 28 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • PE Teacher, Swim Coach, DJ
  • Educated in the United States through University.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


"Your work is to discover your world and then with all your heart give yourself to it." -Budda


I am interested in meeting different people from different places in the world. I am interested in cultures, societies, religions, beliefs, standards, outlooks, taboos, norms, and political ideologies. I am a curious and skeptical person but have the ability to trust deeply. I like to get to know people on a personal level but never hope to make someone feel unsafe. I love to travel and don't want to quit anytime soon.


I need to be more active, but right now I am just very busy. My ideal personal philosophy would be to do something exciting, interesting, different, or scary every day. Repetition is stable but not creative. It doesn't help you grow and change and shape yourself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host as much as I can as well as travel and surf. I love this site and how much it can enrich your traveling experiences.


The people involved in CS along with the opportunity for such a large amount of personal growth just seems amazing. :)


I will change much in my life, but currently, I am fascinated by music, volleyball, dance, conversations, and cultural differences. I am hoping to move to Europe with my wife in the next few years. So we want to learn more about travel opportunities in Europe.

  • culture
  • dancing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • volleyball
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • religion
  • learning

Music, Movies, and Books

I am a dj, so I love music. Right now I am very interested in trip-Hop, liquid dnb, reggae (roots and dancehall), cumbia, and world music. Always changing though.

I love movies. Documentaries are probably my favorite, but I love intense/twisted/deep dramas too. Some of my favorites are: Requiem for a Dream, Dear Zachary: A Letter to a Son about his Father, The Tree of Life, Interstellar, Man on Wire, The Union, Ecstasy Rising, 20 Feet to Stardom, The Union, Too Big to Fail, Inside Job, Forks Over Knives, If A Tree Falls, Tough Guise, Jesus Camp, Sicko, Manufacturing Consent, The Greatest Movie Ever Made, Baraka, I need to finish this later...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of the best memories I have ever had was when I went to Machu Picchu with my best friend, Logan. Traveling to such an amazing place with such a good friend was a wonderful experience that I will never forget. This was just one of the things we did during a month of traveling in Chile, Peru, and Bolivia; so, the whole trip was one great memory in itself.

Teach, Learn, Share

My wife and I are teachers so we can teach some subjects. PE (Physical fitness, nutrition, and education), Social Studies, Science, English, and Mandarin Chinese. I have traveled and lived in South America and China so we can talk about these cultures. I can teach you how to swim better, play water polo, play volleyball, and DJ. Claire can teach you how to do yoga, speak Chinese, and travel around China. We'd love to learn Japanese, German, about life in Europe, and experience of international teachers.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Music, Movies, Conversations, and a hot meal/drink.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, China, Cuba, El Salvador, French Polynesia, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Peru, Philippines, Singapore

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, China, Hong Kong, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sam’s full profile. It’s free!