Samantha Drake's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Start ups
  • Hunter College
  • From New York, NY, USA
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Hello!

After focusing on education and career, I'm ready to pour myself into travel. I finally found a job that lets me work remotely so I can do just that! I work for a company that helps women all over the world get jobs, and I'm especially interested in how I can advocate for the LGBTQ community within that context.

I'm happy to work with you on an exercise plan and/or cook for you while I share your space :)
I also work in recruiting so I can help with resumes, job search advice, etc.

I love new activities and recently learned how to surf and paraglide (well, halfway through a license for that one) even though I'm scared of the ocean and heights. Next on the list: kite surfing, scuba diving, sky diving, etc.
I'm a pretty awesome cook, if I do say so myself, and I'm happy to cook for you! I also like exploring the food scene wherever I go, as well as live music, any sort of healthy outdoor activities, and I get a rush from meeting new people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Traveling the world is my major life goal for the next couple of years. I've worked hard to put myself in a position to do so; I think my crazy-adventurer and responsible-member-of-society sides are fairly equally balanced :)

Interests

Cooking, surfing, reading, air sports, hiking, food, cognitive science, business

  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • japanese food
  • exercise
  • running
  • technology
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • kite surfing
  • adventure races
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • paragliding
  • business
  • teaching
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: jazz, blues, downtempo, classic rock, opera
Books: Lolita, All the Shah's Men, Candide, The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat
Movies: American Psycho, Adaptation, Lars and the Real Girl, It's a Disaster

What I Can Share with Hosts

Personal training or exercise partner- I'm not licensed, but I've trained a bunch of friends and I learned from pro body builders. Let's lift, or go running, or hike, etc. I'll help put together a routine for you, or join you for whichever you're currently on.

Cooking! No, really, it's a pleasure. Tell me exactly where you want it to fall on the healthy/delicious spectrum and I can make it happen. I specialize in Japanese food, as well as general American fusion.

Business- I work in tech for a recruiting platform, so I spend all day talking to clients about what they're looking for. I'm happy to talk to you about how to get your foot in the door or advance in tech, resumes and cover letters, sales and marketing, etc.

General adventuring partner always excited to make new friends. Wanted an excuse to go to a place, do a thing? Let's go! I thrive in new situations with new people. Total extrovert.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Dominican Republic, Japan, Peru

Countries I’ve Lived In

Dominican Republic

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha’s full profile. It’s free!